Preparing My Local Electrum Wallet For Bitcoin Cash

in #bitcoin7 years ago

Bitcoin Cash blockchain is 16 blocks old now.

I started preparing my local environment to get hold of my BCC deriving from the BTC that were in my local wallet before the fork. I believe that some of you will find this interesting and useful.

Electrum Wallet On Windows

I am using the Electrum Wallet which is installed on my Windows 10 desktop machine. According to their instructions and considering various reddit and Bitcoin Talk debates I did the following:

  1. created new standard wallet on my Windows 10 machine
  2. moved bitcoins from my old wallet to this *new wallet
  3. installed Electron Cash wallet on a notebook

Next step will be to restore a wallet in Electron Cash with a seed from my old wallet and my BCH should automagically appear.

Three things are VERY IMPORTANT here and should be considered and dealt with. So be very careful.

1. You should not install and run Electron Cash wallet on the same machine where you Electrum wallet already is.


It is said that Electron Cash moves wallet files from original directory to its default directory.

2. When you install and configure Electron Cash wallet be sure to manually select server or double check that the automatically selected server is indeed serving the BCC blockchain.

There is a bug in Electron Cash which causes selecting or BTC server which results in not seeing anything - if you already moved our bitcoins. Read here ...

3. When you enter your seed while restoring the old wallet with Electron Cash you mustn't have any bitcoins in the old wallet.

You must move your bitcoins elsewhere before opening the wallet in BCC mode.

This a strongly recommended safety precaution.


Be sure to read, double read, plan and understand your steps before taking any action.

Also read the @electroncash's article Electron Cash - How to Check you are on the Bitcoin Cash Chain.

Yes, the author of (or the speaker for) the BCC wallet is on Steemit.

Electron Cash downloads are here.


I am not connected with Electrum nor Electron Cash!

Your actions are your own decision and responsibility. Be careful!


OK, that's it for now. I'll let you know how the restoring of the wallet in BCC mode will turn out. I am off for a late night run now :)

Take care and good luck!

Sort:  

It certainly looks like a scam. Did everything as instructed.

The wallet has a deposit and withdrawal after loading the private key.

It was only about US$5.00 worth of BCC.

This is warning to others, take care.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97