My First Post!

in #bitcoin6 years ago

I am posting for the first time here on Steemit and I want to address my feelings about Blockchain and Bitcoin. I will start this off by saying by no means do I know a ton about either but I think I know just enough to write this article. Many will use that statement to refute what I am about to write but because this is more about my initial thoughts and feelings toward these two than anything informative I hope you hold off with the ridicule. My wish is for an informative debate and a possible schooling of my inability to see the whole picture.

Ok, with that out of the way I think we should start by how I heard of the this tech in the first place. It should make more sense as to where I am coming from. I bet you could probably guess where I heard it from because there are probably only a few possibilities. The possibles for most are a friend, Social Media, or for me, You Tube. I am a big fan of You Tube and to me it was almost as revolutionary as people think Blockchain is. I mean before You Tube an Artist had almost no chance to make it big without a record label or an agent to get exposure to the masses. In walks YouTube and breaks it wide open and along for the ride comes many different aspects of content creators. I can say, with confidence, they even brought the internet education system to what it is today. We can debate all day about the merits or deficiencies of YouTube, especially in todays environment, but there is no refuting the role it played for content creators. How they revolutionized and realized to many the power of the web as a medium and wealth creator.
One day a developer I follow had a block chain video and I watched some of it. Of course YouTube’s algorithm decided that was my new interest so flooded my feed with related content. Content I could not get enough of. This one time the algorithms were right I was hooked. I eventually of course found Andreas Antonopoulos and was off to the races on finding out everything I can about Bitcoin. Of course the huge upside for making money drew me in but what has kept me is the implications of the disruption. We all know what those are but the one I believe will have the most impact is the unbanked. The larger part of the world population that just doesn’t have enough or be close enough to a bank for it to be a worthwhile venture on either side of the equation. As I realized this I started to get very excited and wanted to learn even more but then something happened and it has sidetracked me ever since. It has tainted my view of this whole possible, dare I say Virtual Cult.
Let the ridicule and laughing commence but to me this is the real problem with the whole space. When a person takes a high level cursory look into Bitcoin, because of the media propaganda from the last few years, and happens on the religious like fervor surrounding the community it makes one stop and viscerally feel like something is wrong. After my initial educational articles and videos had been satiated I started to venture out and see some of the more in your face Money Grabbers and, of course, the ICO and pyramid schemer videos. Have you ever ventured down the page and read some of the erudite commentary? I am being very sarcastic here because most comments are of the confrontational variety or trying to get you to jump on their downward spiral wagon of fake hysteria.
I would like to state that there are legitimate ICO’s (possibly a few or two) out there but as many respectable leaders in this space have stated most will fail and are of the scam ilk. Not to say that we haven’t seen some make money but to what expense?
Enough about the scam aspect I really just wanted to write this to get my thoughts out as they are right now. I am still looking into certain aspects of this and studying before I take the plunge in head long. Most seem to be jumping in on faith which as of this moment I do not have for crypto community. I feel an upside in the long term but right now I just don’t know enough. I do see regulation coming in and putting the kabash on all this Wild West trading but exactly when is anyone’s guess but Golman Saks and Jamie Dimion. The powers at be have seen enough of this and want in on the action or to stop it cold. They have bided their time but the swoop and burn baby is about to commence so pull up your waders it ain’t gonna be fun.
Ok yes, that was a little sidetrack but now back to the scheduled programming. My whole point here is that as someone new comes in it is very easy to point to a scammy wild space of wanna be’s. This might piss some off but it’s true and I have talked to people new like myself that feel exactly the same way. I would think with sites and Dapp’s being developed everyday and as people get more familiar with things like Solidity and when Blockchain is more appropriate we shall see a slow change and all “The world is going to end!” BS will fade into the ether. As always I may be a DumDumDev but I ain’t stupid. Keep your code Open and Dry folks. Have an Awesome Day!

Sort:  

Congratulations @dumdumdev! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard supports the SteemFest⁴ Travel Reimbursement Fund.
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63900.26
ETH 3063.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.21