You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What happens when Peter Thiel buys Bitcoin

in #bitcoin7 years ago

Although the decentralised concept is interesting I keep having questions. Of course there's a hype now. Which is good to give the whole idea a boost.
Though how do you actually look at the value of bitcoin and other currencies? When bitcoin keeps on getting more 'value' (in dollars), it doesn't seem wise to actually spend them. So, they are some kind of set of numbers on your hard drive. Until? What needs to happen before bitcoin can actually be seen as a currency? Does it have the right features to be ever used as a currency?
If the 'value' actually goes to $500.000 in three years as some claim, then why would you not just keep them ... unused bits on a hard drive...
But they are not lie apples or pears you can actually use (when you are not willing to actually spend them ;) ).
Next to e.g. the openness. I (as in: I am Belgian, in my culture ...) am not used to having my bank account open to everyone who's interested. Nor my transactions...

I am wondering what I am missing...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61547.52
ETH 2377.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58