Sort:  

ok I haven't claimed BTG or any other forks - have you claimed any and was it safe and successful?

Yes. I would recommend coinomi to claim your forked coins as it’s a very safe wallet, but even so you should always move your Bitcoin out of your original address before claiming forked coins from that old address to avoid any possible issues

thanks Darren -- you have been a big help -- my money is out of my paper wallet now and I will try to set up a coinomi soon -- what forks are they going to credit me with and do I have to specifically claim the forks I seek to be compensated for - sorry to ask such basic questions - I really appreciate you giving me assistance

No problem mate.

For Bitcoin (BTC) Coinomi supports the following forks:

Bitcoin Cash
Bitcoin Gold
Bitcoin Private
Bitcoin Atom
Bitcore

What forks you are entitled to claim will off course depend on when you held the Bitcoin.

Hopefully you held it (and it’s private key, ie: Paper wallet or a wallet that gives you access to your private keys / Master Seed, and NOT a custodial exchange prior to all, or at least some of the forked coins I mentioned were born.

You will need to manually claim them, but it’s quite straight forward.

Read all of this article here:
https://coinomi.freshdesk.com/support/solutions/articles/29000016813-claiming-your-forked-coins

Just make sure that after you’ve transferred your bitcoin out of that paper wallet that you never use use it again for transferring bitcoin to, but only for claiming Bitcoin Diamond and Super Bitcoin (which Coinomi don’t currently support). Then your bitcoin will be safe in the new wallet with its new private key that no one knows but you!

If you have any other questions/concerns feel free to ask.

awesome mate - I will be eligible for all of them except Bitcoin Cash BCH as I had it in an exchange and was less than 0.1 at that time - since then I realised I need to keep most in a paper wallet and kept it all in one paper wallet until last week - so I still have the private key for that wallet and I guess I can claim gold private atom and bitcore -- it is not a lot of money but I reckon it is better if I claim it -- I was too scared in case of putting my BTC at risk - but from your comment I see I can claim without the money in the paper wallet and use that private key safely to claim my fork coins .. you have helped me and encouraged me -- I really feel confident that I can claim these small amounts without putting anything at risk. lucky I kept my paper wallet keys even though I drained it all last week -woo hoo . Your a good guy James and you deserve the pretty girlfriend in the picture too .. glad to have made a friend with you too .all the best, David Emanuel

No Problem at all David, I’m glad to help.

Yes don’t worry your original BTC is definitely 100% safe using this method.

Btw ignore what I said about “destroying” your old paper wallet after claiming your forks. It slipped my mind that Coinomi doesn’t support Bitcoin Diamond or Super Bitcoin so you might need to keep your original paper wallet to claim them in the future on a different platform if Coinomi never implements support for those two.

Also Thank you mate! She will be chuffed a stranger said she’s pretty as she’s got very low self esteem.

It’s nice to meet you also, and I hope I’ve helped you somewhat.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67275.57
ETH 3480.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67