Sort:  

You effectively lock your coins away until a certain date, or for a certain period. For example I could time lock 5btc for a year and although I would retain ownership, I could not move them until the time had lapsed.

lol how did you get 13 votes already! do you have a big follwoing? thats crazy.
Thank you for explaining that, is there a place to do that at? I see on coinbase they have something called the Bitcoin Vault. Never knew what it was.... OR is it just something people do on their own? like a cold wallet and never touch something until a dedicated time?

It is probably done using some smart contract. In other words, your coins are inaccessible (can not be used/transferred) given a certain requirement. (For example after a particular date.)

I haven't researched how to do it though. It would be nice if their is a wallet where the feature is ready built in with user friendly interface and clear easy to follow instructions.

Iam not aware of any wallet offering this. I agree that smart contracts can offer this but I haven't used them.

I prefer to have control over my coins in case I really need to sell (need to pay for medical treatment etc) but not make it so straightforward that I sell on every piece of news. My coins are stored on a Trezor that is locked away. I have a watch only wallet on my computer so I can keep track of them.

I prefer to have control over my coins...

Me too ;-).

You can lock you bitcoins into a wallet and can't be spent no matter what untilt he specified time. Takes python coding knowledge.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58833.91
ETH 3155.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44