#4.0 - Is Bitcoin doing it's job?

in #bitcoin6 years ago (edited)

  The short answer: Yes...

And here's another reason why...


Recently, I was travelling between countries, and I didn't have a Credit Card with me (why is an entirely different story, so I'll save that for another time). 

All I had at the time, was cash, so I headed to a counter I haven't been to in a while; a real life currency exchange.

Now - the currency I wanted to exchange has a ratio of app. 8:1, so on my way to the till, I calculated what I was supposed to get for the exchange... And I got all excited seeing the "no fee" sign. But trotting up to the counter, I found out that the rate they were prepared to issue was about 10:1 (but at least they didn't charge fees!)

In all fairness - noticing my astonishment - the lovely little lady behind the counter, did say; "we want to keep you as a customer, so let me see what I can do" - and "lowered" it to about 9.5:1 - that's when I laughed and walked away and found the nearest bitcoin ATM, which luckily wasn't far away, and MADE money on withdrawing, since bitcoin has been on the rise lately - not that I need to tell you that.  

So, sure, Bitcoin has its issues;
- Network congestion
- Spam transactions
- Volatility, and a variety of technical difficulties, that needs to be adressed.

But so has any developing technology!

Even today, with the speed of innovation in technology, I struggle to find a technology, that has reached its final stage of development and being free of any bugs.

One of the biggest questions that keeps confronting me, mostly from outsiders of the space, is; "why is BitCoin so much better than the current financial system?", "what does it do that I can't do already?"

And we tend to fall back on the "cliche" arguments of; "banking the unbanked" and "decentralizing finance" -  but let's be honest - these arguments don't bite on people who are not affected by these issues. 

They have access to the international banking system, and fee's are nominal to most westerners.
And we'll pay for that convenience.

Not that there is anything wrong with paying for convenience - afterall, that's what we do when we pay a bitcoin fee, isn't it? But that convenience should be available to any and everyone!

And that's just the easiest argument to set forth - and only an argument; not a widespread usecase... yet!
But that's not to say that usecases don't exist for the rest of us as well - whether people realize it or not.

And that's the hardest thing to convey, when trying to explain why Bitcoin is for everyone - and not just for serving the unbanked or fighting corruption.

There ARE everyday usecases for "the rest of us" as well... We just need to find them, use them and improve them.

All Bitcoin needs to succeed as a payment method, is US! 

Don't just HODL guys - spend and refill!

Brevity is the soul of wit - and longevity the soul of the contemplative!

#0.0 - Who am I, and how did I get here? [intro]
#0.1 - Who am I, and how did I get here? [pt. II]

#1.0 - How the DeepWeb made me a HODL'er
#1.1 - The power of addiction...

#2.0 - If something seems too good to be true...
#2.1 - Is Bitcoin the exception to the rule..?#

#3.0 - The revolution that never came... [Pt. I]
#3.1 - The revolution that never came... Or did it? [Pt. II]

#4.0 - Is Bitcoin doing it's job?

Sort:  

Nice post... I have always wanted to be part of bitcoin but I don't know how to go about it. Please can you give me a hint? @cryptos17

I'm not sure how to exactly answer that...

Buying it is easy - I can help you with how you buy and store it, if that's what you mean? :)

But ask away, and I'll happily help as much as I can with info / tutorials - you can email me at [email protected] if you want to keep it private, but I recommend we chat here, so others can see and learn as well :)

I want to know everything as a new beginner

Loading...

When i explain what bitcoin is, the short definition "finance without bank" charms everybody.

I still think most people see it as "savings" and not a spending option - but yea, that's definitely a persuasive one :)

hey, this post resteemed by @manikchandsk to over 6600 followers and voted. good luck
thanks for using our service.
send 0.200 sbd or steem to @manikchandsk and keep post link in memo that you want resteem + 30 upvote.
click for details..https://steemit.com/manikchandsk/@manikchandsk/post-resteem-upvote-service

Thanks @alkhalis #4.1 later today I hope... just got some stuff to do first.

Hope I can keep your interest, and that you keep liking what you read... :)

You got a 3.39% upvote from @upmewhale courtesy of @cryptos17!

Earn 100% earning payout by delegating SP to @upmewhale. Visit http://www.upmewhale.com for details!

Transfer 0.001 SBD or 0.001 STEEM to @a-0-0 to have your last blog post resteemed to over 33,700 followers. Leave Memo empty.

Thanks - glad you like it... :)

You ara Welcome my friend

This post has received a 2.06 % upvote from @speedvoter thanks to: @cryptos17.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65092.40
ETH 3470.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50