How I Made An 11x Return Without Even Knowing It (or why I am all in on cryptocurrencies)

in #bitcoin7 years ago (edited)

I posted this over 2 hours ago and still hasn't shown up, so giving it another shot.

Holy Crap Look At That

In December of 2015 , I was reading a good deal about Bitcoin and cryptocurrencies and while I had a surface level understanding, I was by no means taking a deep dive into understanding things.

That said, I went ahead and setup a CoinBase account just to give it a go. I made a $50 buy and promptly forgot about it.

Fast forward to last week and I am again reading more on cryptocurrencies and suddenly I remembered that I had made that little purchase. So, I logged into the CoinBase account and I had about an 11x return on that $50 investment. What a nice surprise!

Coinbase.png

As you can likely imagine, that certainly sparked my interest and since then, I've been devouring everything I can on cryptocurrencies and gaining an understanding of what I might be able to do to leverage it further. It didn't hurt that it has continued its climb over the last week.

Investing / Trading

I am of course interested in buying and holding as a long-term investment and will continue to do that, but I am also looking seriously at day-trading. It was one of the first things I thought about when I saw the volatility and I am pretty excited by the prospect of making money that way.

My primary research in that category has been through the amazing materials being provided by @quickfingersluc. If you have any interest in this arena, then I recommend giving his videos and his blog a go. He is unselfishly providing amazing training and he's not selling a damn thing.

Have you found any resources around trading cryptocurrencies you would recommend? Please post them in the comments and I will compile a list for another post.

Products

I am a tech product guy and have had a number of successes in that arena. I am very excited about Ethereum and like platforms for their capabilities to transform how we do business and interact with each other. Steem is a fascinating example of a use of these technologies, but my experience so far with the web side of the platform has been less than inspiring. I've had an idea for a number of years that my partner and I are going to investigate using one of these platforms to create the network.

Do you have excellent examples of blockchain platform uses that aren't just a way to scam people out of their money? Please post in the comments

I've learned a lot on Steemit and other platforms about bitcoin, but have a long way to go. If you have any ideas or thoughts that would help a beginner like me along, please let me know.

I am also looking at tools for trading and have a couple of ideas.

If you have a great idea you are trying to get off the ground, please reach out to me. I've been working in the tech startup scene for a very long time and have helped a number of startups reach success. I am always happy to mentor or help others.

As I mentioned at the top, I am going to use this channel to document my experiences, learning, and ideas for using cryptocurrencies to make money and blockchain tech to make products. If you would like to contribute, have ideas, or just want to follow along, please follow me, comment, and share.

Sort:  

Congratulations @clickbrain! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Introducing SteemitBoard Ranking

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @clickbrain! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63617.36
ETH 3070.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82