You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Bitcoin vs Eos-Understanding the drama

in #bitcoin6 years ago

Beautifully written my friend and I agree with everything. You know that I like and hold both. I just don’t know why EOS dpos is made of 21 BP? If there is 100 block producers, EOS and its dpos would be closer to perfect...

Sort:  

Thanks :)
I was honestly surprised when Dan himself commented to me :)

Also I think this is somewhat your answer to the 21 BP:

EOS will launch with 21 core validators (plus ~100 more backup producers that are also compensated). 21 is not a magic number, and that number may change over time. But it is informed empirically based on Dan Larimer’s past experiences building DPoS systems like BitShares and Steem. BitShares, Larimer’s first blockchain, launched with 101 block producers. Larimer has since learned that, due to the natural cartelization of all open systems including Bitcoin and Ethereum, that in practice open systems don’t support more than about 20 independent actors. The choice of 21 validators attempts to balance decentralization, performance, and governance based on prior experiences.

101 bp on Bitshares were better. He left Bitshares because he wanted inflation on BTS but he couldn't achieve consensus for that. From one side with 101 BP is hard to be united on anything but it is more decentralized...

This is the only answer I found online so yeah I knew it was shitty. I think Dan knows the flaw but wants the speed and the quick agreement so the platform can start building

Make sense. When EOS start working you can make some adjustments and on EOS you can do that without hard fork.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59820.46
ETH 2409.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42