Bitcoin APOCALYPSE is upon us... /Cough - This is getting old year after year

in #bitcoin6 years ago

Golden-bitcoin-digital-currency.jpg

So I have read some of the most ridiculous things I thought I would read in the last couple days regarding cryptocurrencies as a whole and Bitcoin. Moreover, being in the crypto space as deep as I am for as long as I have been, people feel it's necessary to call me on the phone or shoot me every known article under the sun doubting Bitcoin moving forward as the latest forecast trend takes hold of the mainstream... First and foremost I will tell you this, if somebody's telling you Bitcoin is dying or the apocalypse is nigh, they're probably waiting for the price to dip so they can buy up everything under the sun as cheap as possible... When you have people like Tai Lopez or even bigger investment groups in Bank of America sinking literally endless swaths of money a Bitcoin whether it's cheap or whether its highest price it's ever been, I can guarantee you, for at least the next three years, Bitcoin isn't going anywhere, and anyone speaking to the contrary is just naysaying to get the price to go lower so they can buy in cheaper... Maybe steemit isn't the right platform to talk about this stuff because I'm sure all of you are in it for the Long Haul just like I am and I'm really just preaching to the choir here, but I'm really wondering here, is anyone else as sick of hearing about this as I am like Bitcoin isn't going to bounce back? Like it hasn't bounced back Time After Time Again? I've been in Bitcoin since you could buy it sub $10, you're not going to convince me that Bitcoin is going anywhere but up because not only is that my belief, the numbers have proven themselves time and time again!

Honestly I only have one fear, and it has been the same fear ever since I lost a considerable amount of coins on Cryptsy... I'm just afraid of giant exchanges like coinbase going belly-up due to embezzling or whatever the case may have been with the exchanges that went down back in 2012 and 2013. On Cryptsy alone I lost well over $100,000 at today's prices on just alt-coins, and I think the tinge of my losses will continue to get worse as those coins go up in value... I try not to think about those days but the only concern that ever hits my mind these days is a major exchange like binance or coinbase going belly-up overnight and we all lose our coins. Other than that, the value of Bitcoin does not affect me. There are too many large holders out there and too many companies who have adopted it for me to be concerned that it's going anywhere. All we're seeing right now are people taking realizations for Investments they made in Q4, nothing else to be afraid of. Anyone who has any contrary argument is out of their mind and if they want to bail on BGC then let them bail and we will make the money :-). Has anybody really read anything compelling to think that Bitcoin is totally about to implode LOL? I feel stupid even reading that sentence but I still had to ask haha... Let me know Steemians!

Bitcoin-2013.jpg

BTW... this is the only chart that matters to me because this is where it all began :-). I started buying back when it was $9.80 and I sold at $1250 on the first run... Since then Bitcoin has been very alive in my group of friends and it's not going anywhere! <3 Bitcoin! Oh yeah, was buying Litcoin sub $0.05 and was devastated when I went to $0.35 because I didn't have enough in my opinion LOL... Man was I wrong!

Sort:  

Brought my wallet out of cold storage after last August's fork, not liking what seemed to be happening with the Bitcoin Core network and their high transfer fees. The plan was to change my ratio of BTC to BCH tokens, more in favor of BCH. That attempt turned into a journey of its own.

It was calming to hear on the Keiser Report that there has been positive tests using the Lightning Network, as well as your observation that transfer fees have dropped.

Anxiously waiting to see Lightning in action. 😎

LMFAO do I even want to ask how much you had in your wallet for you to have brought it out of Cold Storage haha? You don't have to share it, I just figured since we were in a sharing mood and I told about my $100,000 + losses on cryptsy with the Advent of that exchange going belly-up overnight might put people in a sharing mood haha. Just kidding, you really don't have to share.

And I'm so glad to see another fan of the Keiser report! I have been watching him for years and it's so funny, now that you watch him versus watching him back in 2012, he has the biggest smile on his face in one can only assume that's because he made scads of money off of Bitcoin :-)... Him and his wife! Quick question though, all of my Bitcoins were washed away when cryptsy went belly-up, so I never got to reap the benefits of the hard Fork. So because you had your coins in Cold Storage you didn't get any of the BCH tokens at the Hard fork? And yes there are very exciting times ahead with lightning Network, I'm so excited to see how this pans out, Bitcoin transaction times are so sluggish and could really use the Boost! Thanks for the comment and hope to hear from you again :-).

Having not touched my wallet since 2015, the fork went well for me. Even got a Bitcoin Gold wallet installed, recently, and have buys in with them for BCH. Was kind of hoping for The Year of the Fork instead of The Year of Regulations though. 😎

LOL yeah, the regulations going to suck but that's why God invented Proxes! LOL well maybe not God, but for what purpose they serve you might as well be. I have a TunnelBear for purchasing ico's, not sure if you use vpns or not but at least to get around the regulations on purchasing them you can VPN outside the country and still purchase them. Now in no way am I implying that I will be avoiding paying taxes on my purchases, that's not the point of this, but the regulations will come with their own limitations but I'm sure there will be ways around them for the true investors, True Believers, and the Revolutionary types who just don't care. It still could be the year of the fork though! You never know... Bitcoin has another Fork ahead of it for Bitcoin private & ZClassic

Completely agree with you. Crypto's and Bitcoin have a LONG future ahead. Of all the reasons "to" and "not to" invest, what got me in back October, was ignoring all the hype and fud and spending two months before researching the subject and coins! I'm kicking myself, because as soon as I read about it, I realised I missed the boat big time. I've been in technology since the release of the BBC Micro! How could I have written it off like many others, but then sit down and watch scifi shows and films and watch as they buy with these creds, units, cubits, etc! Clearly these scifi writers know, in hindsight, what and where we are heading. The question is to ask is NOT whether there is a bubble, but, whether the price you are buying is going to be less than it will be in 10 years time! If the answer is yes, BUY BUY BUY!

LMFAO! Your post made me laugh so hard! Dude I am right there with you! Even when I bought in at $10, I'm not going to lie the ride up to $1,250 was an emotional roller coaster... But I got out right before it hit $1,275 yes... My thing was I couldn't get past the psychological barrier that gold was $1,250 an ounce so I got out and bought some gold haha. I got back in over the years but at the time that I got out I had nearly 500 Bitcoin. I was still really happy with my investment but oh my god did I kick myself in the butt this past December! 500 Bitcoin would have been worth a hell of a lot more in December hi. Just not liquidated but that was my first brush with such an emotional connection to my money. The Sci-Fi writers have been on it for decades and we are just now catching on! I think we need to look no further than science fiction for what's coming next because science fiction is really nothing more then fantasy playing out in the form of an abstraction but as science reality slowly moves forward, many fictions become fact. I Will Never Be Shaken again from crypto, I am one of the firm Believers that Bitcoin is going to 1 million dollars, every price we have seen in the last few months, the last few years, they are all buying prices! You could not have said it best... $100 THROW THE FARM AT IT! $1,000 buy buy BUY X1000! $10,000 $100,000... Yeah I'm staying in LOL

Yes, GOLD was a massive barrier for people; I can only imagine. I'm really gutted I only invested in ALTS from October last year. Saying that, I have a GREAT position in ADA. Not as large as some of the whales, but if it hits £1 or £5, I'll be very happy with the return (not retirement money, but happy). My hopes in ten years time with it is £25, then I can retire at the right age, if not, I'm stuffed! I'm both pleased and deeply jealous that at least you got in on the action along the way! Being late the show is annoying, but I'm a believer that this is the future. I'm not in the camp of £1m per bitcoin, but I can see it being at higher levels than it has been. For me, XMAS 17 has been both exciting, frustrating and an Illusion. Due to the massive gains. I'm personally happy with the correction right now, as the markets are actually where I predicted them 4 months ago. If I were a day trader, I would have made a fortune, but I'm not. A long term investor! Great to speak to you and will follow your posts.

@sp33dy don't frer over the last few years brother you made the right decision when it mattered and that's all that counts!! I have been yelling about cryptos and Bitcoin since late 2012 all over my Facebook and Google Plus but nobody listened LOL... It's all right though, I really just posted that stuff back then for these days so people can be like oh yeah I remember when you were saying that... And I have had so many people come up to me in real life and tell me they wish they would have invested back when I was saying something. It has nothing to do with being right it has everything to do with sound money and the future of Finance. I am a huge advocate of sound money and that's where my beliefs come from. Nothing special about my belief system over anyone elses other than I was an early adopter. Now I will say that back before Bitcoin ever hit a 1 billion dollar market cap, like back when it was 700 million dollars for the longest time, the day that Bitcoin hit 1 billion dollars was a big day! We all held our breaths because we had no idea what was about to happen but we knew it was big! But never in my wildest dreams would I have forecast what it did this past December in just five short years. Bitcoin changed my life and all of my friends lives back in 2013 and we are slated to do it again this year! We don't have the best positions in the world but we definitely know how to grow a position at this point and the most important thing to remember at least in my advice is to keep your emotions at Bay because it will become a very very emotional experience if you let it. Once you start trading mid six figures, everything you do will give you indigestion, just going to sleep at night will cause you stress LOL... I'm hoping those days are behind me but I also hope that those trading days are in front of me as well :-). You know what I mean! Love your position you currently have, I definitely think it's realistic where you are aiming and while it might not be that final payoff you're looking for, there are lots of ways you can grow your position to get that final retirement style pay off! So glad you're following my posts, I love to be a part of the Kindred mindset that is cryptocurrencies. I have a little surprise for you, I'm going to write a post specifically for you right after I'm done commenting on these comments. I think you'll find it useful, I want to post something simple so that other people can understand but also something you could really benefit from! See, how I look at my hand today is very different than how I looked at it back in 2012, I'm hoping that in this blog I write in just a hour or so will help you out because it's definitely giving me a ton of motivation to move forward this year with whatever investment I can come up with! Give it a look in a couple hours and let me know what you think :-), I'm writing it specifically for you, I wasn't going to share it with anyone but hearing you say that you might not have the retirement position you're looking for makes me feel bad because you don't even realize it but you just having a position at all means you are possibly holding on to more than you even realize! So keep an eye out in the next hour or two, I just have to finish driving to my destination and I'll post a little article that might give you some good feelings about this year! Pleasure speaking with you brother

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63071.06
ETH 3121.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84