Is Bitcoin a Trojan Horse?

in #bitcoin6 years ago (edited)

I have been on cryptos since early 2013. Hell, the first time I've heard about Bitcoin it was in 2011, but at that time I thought it was just another one of those Ponzi schemes and never lost too many time trying to figure out what it really was. It was not until a colleague of mine started talking to me about it in early 2013. My immediate response to him was: Dude, just forget it. it is just another one of those kinda Telexfree schemes. If you put money on to it, you will end up losing it all. drop-bitcoins-not-bombs.jpg

He carried on reluctantly telling me that I should take a closer look at it as the ideology behind it was a little bit inline with my anarchist convictions. That started to ring some bells and later that night I just sat in front of my desktop and decided to read Satoshi Nakamoto Whitepaper. Since I have an academic background in social sciences, after the first read, I just couldn't figure out what was it all about, but it sounded interesting. So I gave it another try and looked for support articles that could enlight me further. After a few searches and a third read, I got struck. I finally understood what the heck was bitcoin all about.

I fell in love with the whole thing. The mysterious twists of the story behind the creator of bitcoin were absolutely captivating and the underlying technology driving bitcoin was certainly going to be the future. I started to dedicate my whole free time to cryptocurrencies, mining them, understanding their particularities and pros and cons. I was sleeping about 3 hours a day just to spend more time with my new love. Those were some great times. I was thrilled. Everything was new, and the technology was going to change the world. My friends just couldn't hear me talking about it anymore.

Nowadays, I still have that initial passion about the whole thing, but I'm not that thrilled anymore. It is kinda like an old marriage. When you already know everything you need to know about your partner. That is how I feel right now. A little bit disappointed and mistaken.

You see, unfortunately, men, humankind, or whatever; we are not there yet. We are still monkeys with guns. I'm an Anarchist, but I know Anarchy is a utopia. I'm only here to pass the message. If we survive ourselves, the message might get through and we can finally evolve to a higher level of evolution where pure Anarchism can be possible.

Right now, we have come to a technological level of development that allows us to create remarkable inventions, but we use them to our own demise. We still feed on the poor and the hopeless, and that is why, like with any new technology, instead of being used for good, it will be used in the interest of a few, it will be wrongly used. Nuclear Energy could be a good thing if properly used, but nah!!! We had to use it to bomb Hiroshima and Nagasaki. Sad but true.

By now, you must be having a rough idea of what I'm talking about. Yes. I'm talking about bitcoin and its underlying technology, the blockchain. Satoshi Nakamoto might have given us the invention of the century, but he also might have just created the perfect tool for absolute control.

There has been a lot of fud surrounding bitcoin. Many of the rumours are true while others are considered to be simple conspiracy theories and I might say that some have no sense at all while others have a certain point. So, what if bitcoin was in fact created by the NSA? What if it was all just part of a big plan? A plan that is aligned with the interests of a New World Order?

What if bitcoin was just a test; a preliminary test to prepare mankind to a new economic reality. One where governments control your every step, including your money and how you spend it. Well, my friends, if this is true I say George Orwell hit the pot. But strangely enough, the fact is that in less than 10 years or so, I'm confident that we will see a lot of countries starting to implement their digital currency, one that citizens will be demanded to use.

If Bitcoin was the first phase of a bigger plan. Surely, the goal for this phase would be to educate people on digital currencies and prepare them to accept them as they did with the credit cards a few decades ago.

Bitcoin might be the trojan that no one was expecting about. Its popularity and ist speculative potential are making it the star of the moment, and governments already expressed their interest in the technology. I hope I'm wrong with this one, but only the future will tell.

Sort:  

Interesting perspective!

Maximilien François Marie Isidore de Robespierre

Congratulations @blawpaw! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Croatia vs England


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @blawpaw! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 66383.47
ETH 3513.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53