"Should I get in on this?" Dogecoin saga part.2

in #bitcoin7 years ago

Just going to pick up where I left off last night. Btw ignore my grammar and spelling. I am sure the grammar police struggle reading my work. Sorry...

Going forward as we grew we continued to run into problems. Things we couldn't change, like the fact that we were a memecoin. No one took us serious except for silly people/ businesses. We needed more than a good attitude. We needed devs. We ended up with way more than devs. People started sharing their gifts and before we knew it we had formed a "community group" and a "PR Group". The PR group was constructed independently from the community. The community group was voted for on R/doge off a list of 100 people. Fortunately I was able to be a part of both of these groups. I was using various slack channels, Reddit, and twitter to communicate with everyone. There was some serious work being done in these areas. We were able to essentially control the content as which the world seen us. We spawned ideas and collaborated. So many good things came from these groups. I almost had a group ready to help me with a Dogecoin coloring book. Each page of art from shibe in the community. Let them sign the page and leave their doge address. I had artist lined up. In the community group we were deciding who we were. Do we let freedom reign on R/doge (sexual content/ boobs for Dogecoin, gambling, dogeroad) or are we a family friendly community (censorship)? I can assure you that these conversations were some of the best Dogecoin would ever have. We started sub Reddits for various content, and we were moving forward fast. We moved so fast that no one cared about the actual value of Dogecoin. Our philosophy was 1 Dogecoin = 1 Dogecoin. The problem with that philosophy was that we were actually a currency. We couldn't keep turning our noses to the price because one day we would be raising 1 million Dogecoin for a cause and the next day it was only 700k because of price changes. When anyone brought up the price of Dogecoin 🍍 <-- Would be the answer. For me I was split on the subject. I was not profiting at all because all I did was tip and donate but I did understand that the price was going all over the place ( Wolong).
I guess it's time to talk about him... So as all this awesomesauce is going on my spidey senses were up. I had already been broke in well with the twitter trolls (flagged twitter, scam, lies,) so I was on my toes within the community. I labeled everyone a scammer. Even people that to this day dm me (sorry @dogepromotions). Every time I thought I would have a scammer nailed it would turn out innocent or I would find accountability. Well not every time. There was one guy that I knew was no good. I could see it in his attitude. He was not investing in the community because of fun, and help. He was there to make a profit. Now this isn't rare in a crypto community. Actually 99.99% of crypto community end goal is profit. Dogecoin was different. We had so many good people it outnumbered the bad. The problem with this guy is that he was a smooth talker, and he "wrote code". He started making promises early. He claimed he was working on a "Dogecoin ATM" and cold storage Mobil wallets. He was illegally crowdfunding for his projects. Because he was such a predominant member of the community no one questioned him. If someone did he would slap them down, and then sick the doges on them. The first couple times this happened I didn't think too much of it. He would everyonce in a while post pics of half made atms and have "visual" witnesses to his work. At one point in time I thought to my self "should I get in on this?" It wasn't long before my discernment turned into action. I started questioning him and the people surrounding him. My questions would be subtle, but he would immediately pick up on it, and either deflect or blame. He never really attacked me the whole time. He knew my stance in the community and I think deep down he respected me. Did I mention his name yet? Ryan Kennedy aka Ryan Humble aka Ryan Gentle aka moolah. I am not trying to be over dramatic with his name. Those are actual names he has used during and before Dogecoin. Yes I said before Dogecoin. He had been doing this long before Dogecoin. I came to the conclusion that I was going to just completely avoid him and his people. I would just focus on things I could control. Work with people I trusted. The reality for me at the time was Dogecoin was bigger than moolah and that worse case he's caught and we rid the fool. I was right in the short time. We KEPT GROWING! We were bringing in other cryptocurrency community people. People saying "I like it here, other places are full of egomaniacs". We became so big we would get responses from famous people and businesses. I even developed a relationship with Ripleys believe it or not... believe it or not. To my dismay moolah also was working on things he could control. Like a payment processor... businesses were using it like crazy. I had a local donut shop (strange donuts) that accepted Dogecoin because of Kennedy. His contributions were helping Dogecoin even if I didn't like him. Everyday was something new. We were doing so many fundraisers I started questioning when our community would run out of Dogecoin. This was not the case. We met every goal and some. We even had a Iditarod race scheduled that I had the luxury of announcing. So much was going on so fast that we would not focus on just one cause. We would split off and have multiple shibe working on endeavors. Seriously how could this thing possibly go wrong? Ending it here. I gotst stuff to do. Thanks for reading.

Sort:  

Was feeling a bit alone on this. Have had minimal views and no feedback. Your comment just gave me some confidence. Thank you!!

Congratulations @bitcoinbegger! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Fascinating read! What a scumbag Ryan is, I hope he's in jail by now.

Stay with me and I will get to that part of the story.

I can't stand a chance to compete with your posts :) amazing, but you can check mine also ;)

Just taking this opportunity to say "THANK YOU FOR FOLLOWING ME"

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.11
JST 0.027
BTC 65423.69
ETH 3429.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31