A health warning ⚠️ and I am going in on cryptocurrency!

in #bitcoin6 years ago

Just saw a documentary on Swedish Television that affected me deeply. It was about the company DuPont and corporate greed. For decades they had been lying about the dangers of non sticky Teflon pans and chemicals.
B8D1176D-9E2E-47A9-B196-610C80BEC301.jpeg
7D2850B4-5EE9-44CF-86D3-3BDFBBB78B13.jpeg

Workers been dying, they been dumping toxic waste in river all over USA but primarily Ohio and West Virginia in such an extent that now 99% of all Americans have the chemical PFOA in their blood. A highly cancerous chemical. Giving birth defects, and babies are born with it. It’s very scary and made me 😡 mad.
Most also how they avoided lawsuits and bought the EPA. Paid for cancer treatments rather than discontinue product or warn people. Although they knew that their chemical killed, it killed all the test animals.

7D10A46F-7D09-4F46-905C-7F42D2AD528A.jpeg

I always been nature loving, I am Swedish. I always never trusted corporate greed and capitalism above human decency. I was born in Africa although grew up in Europe and seen poverty and how stuck between a rock and a hard place the lack of money can make you.

With that I can in no longer with good conscious support big pharma, corporate giants and companies that destroy the world and people’s lives for a buck. I sold my funds that are in big companies and I am going more into crypto.
Cause at least I feel good by giving my money to bitcoin, Steem and other cryptocurrency projects and coins. They are not trying to destroy the world, but disrupt it. Off course there are companies in the regular world of finance I can support and I will be picky. But I just feel spiritually better doing this. I have a daughter and I have to do better or try to be a example. So bull or bear crypto here we come.

Sort:  

It's sad that corporations can be so ruthless in their goal to make profits.

It’s sad but the way it is, I understand that the company main mission is to profit and is beholden to the shareholders. The lawyers and the company doctors did the right thing, they advices about public disclosure and warning. Then the bosses decided to not publish.

Thanks for this article. The environmental destruction caused by the production of these products is horrific. Many people are also unaware of the potentially toxic qualities that they pose in the home. Heating these pans to a high temperature unleashes poisonous gasses. It is so common they have actually coined a term for it, "Polymer Fume Fever". Few who use these non-stick pans realize that something as simple as burning a pan could result in life-long and serious health issues.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Polymer_fume_fever

Oh wow, first time I've heard of Polymer fume fever. That's scary. Teflon is still a super popular cooking pan material.

Some googling and I found this: http://tibbs.unc.edu/ask-a-toxicologist-is-it-safe-to-use-teflon-pans/ - I believe it's objectively written.

I've been quite worried, as the pans does tend to become rather worn out in use, even when one is careful not to use metal - and of course, there are lots of teflon pans out there in daily use that have been seriously scratched by someone using metal cutlery in the frying pan. However, my wife is doing the cooking, and she prefers the non-stick variants, so then I've just come to accept the risks, her food makes up for it.

To each their own and one can’t argue with good food. I just don’t like that they knew about PFOA already in the 40’s and lied and hid the effects although people where dying. And they where dumping it. In the 80’s EPA started looking at DuPont and how did they respond ? Corporate capture of the EPA. Not until 2010’s with Democrats they where brought to justice and reluctantly admit about Teflon and PFOA.
It’s just shady profit over human lives. I am not asking people to abandon, for me personally I dont want to support a company or companies that willingly and knowingly would turn a blind eye to killing innocents and risking the lives unborn.
I would like to try your wife cooking though 😊

Profit over human lives, so sad.

I don't think DuPont earns anything on my wife's usage of non-stick frying pans.

I have already voted for you.
Can I invite you to pay attention to my new project? Resteem and upvote my first post can participate in a 100 STEEM lottery.
Steem Express online | Resteem and upvote can participate in a 100 STEEM lottery

That was an attractive title I must say. keep up with such good content!

It is very unfortunate that there are still many companies that ignore the environment to pursue profits. Though preserving the environment also prolongs their lives.

heartless corporations, should send to jail!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63498.69
ETH 2645.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80