You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Secrets of Bitcoin’s Dystopian Valuation Model

in #bitcoin5 years ago (edited)

Monero has tried and failed to maintain ASIC-resistant mining with CryptoNight, i.e. Monero is now entirely centralized and lost immutability as the developers+community change the proof-of-work algorithm often to try to fend off ASICs. There’s some new research for an attempt to make a CPU ASIC-resistant miner, but I remain (as I explained in 2016) very skeptical because a) CPUs are designed for maximum throughput (e.g. speculative ILP and OoOE), not maximum efficiency, and b) “There's No Such Thing as a General-purpose Processor”.

@ifdefelse wrote:

Monero is planning as a final desperation move to adopt RandomX which is related to that research I cited above. I have analyzed RandomX and explained to its creators why I’m quite confident that it will not be ASIC resistant.

Even worse, RandomX would apparently likely entirely centralize the mining at the end game, which is antithesis of its stated design objective! Lol!

I also provided a layman’s terminology explanation.

Again the Monerotards troll me, but I have been correct every damn time. I even told Ethereum co-founder Charles Hoskinson in 2013 that Vitalik’s Dagger/Ethash proof-of-work wouldn’t be ASIC resistant. You may also want to see my recent comments about Snowblossom’s proof-of-work.

Note Ethereum’s tentative plan to switch to ProgPow is also flawed. I raised the issue at ProgPow’s Github repository. And ASIC experts are confident they can get 3X – 10X improvement over a GPU.

I am 99.9% certain that CPU and GPU ASIC resistant proof-of-work is impossible and doomed especially as the market cap of crypto increases, then the ASIC economies-of-scale are increasing.

Note Monero is the only major cryptocurrency to hard fork its proof-of-work. They’ve lowered their stature to that of a centralized shitcoin like Ethereum. Ethereum hard furks whenever Vitalik gets a hard-on. I found a hilarious video where Vitalik does a teapot-calling-the-kettle-black by accusing EOS of centralization and he is challenged by a Chinese person in the audience.

Note all links above are as usual archived at archive.is and archive.org where you can find them if they go dead.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 63986.43
ETH 2745.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66