The Top Languages Used in Steemit - Business Intelligence Steemit

in #bisteemit6 years ago (edited)


Image by Minna Sundberg

Did you know? There are more than 150++ languages used here in Steemit? That is just a fraction of the discovered 7,099 languages!1

It has intrigued me what the top languages used in Steemit are. What are they talking (posting) about? And what are the Japanese and Philippine communities talking about?

What are the most used languages?


The image on the left just confirms that English is the most used language. The image on the right shows the next most used languages after English.

The top 10 languages are:

RankEnglishNative NamePost Count
1EnglishEnglish1,843,893
2SpanishEspañol74,894
3Korean한국어63,616
4PolishPolski36,800
5IndonesianBahasa Indonesia29,811
6GermanDeutsch23,080
7RussianРусский15,336
8Chinese中文11,801
9Japanese日本語7,711
10PortuguesePortuguês7,388

My mother tongue is at 25 with 993 posts.

RankEnglishNative Namepost count
25TagalogTagalog993

What are the top most talked about topics (categories) in English?

This basically confirms the data reported by @arcange in his daily stats that photography is the most posted category.

Perhaps this is because photos are easy to post and does not require too much time to compose?


What about in Spanish?


We can see on the left that spanish is the most used tag. Excluding this tag will give us the next popular tags introduceyourself, photography, and life.

It's intriguing that 'introduceyourself' is the next most used tag in Spanish. I wonder why.

How about in Japanese?


The left graph shows that japanese is the most used tag. Excluding this and japan will give us food, photography, and art.

I think it's natural that Japanese talk about food - they have delicious food - and 'art' - I believe the Japanese are natural illustrators as what is exemplified by @skyleap's talent.

What about posts in Filipino (Tagalog)?


Excluding philippines and pilipinas tags will give us wikang-filipino, esteem, and photography. The data that caught my eye was the wikang-filipino category.

The 'wikang-filipino' tag was initiated by @jassennessaj in his Philippine Poetry & Song Writing Challenge.

What can we do about these categories?

The question that prompted me to do this was - what category or topic will bring me or give me the best return of my time spent composing. And to answer this required me to look into a posts payout value.

Since I will be most likely be posting in the Philippines and Japanese communities, that's where I trimmed down my analysis.

What are the categories that will give me the best return of my time?

Japanese Categories

In my attempt to use the X Y Scatter chart, I used it to identify the outliers. It's obvious that the #japanese category is an outlier with 4,553 posts, $25,839.687 total payout, and an average of $5.68 payout per post.

The y-axis (vertical) is the number of posts, the x-axis (horizontal) is the total payout value, and the size of the bubble is the average $ payout per post.

Representing the average payout per post into something visual will give us this:

We can see that the categories cn, cat, introducemyself and politics have above average payout per post with $18.93, $13.60, $9.94, and $8.72 respectively. 'politics' has 6 posts.

Filipino Categories

We can see that there are a vast of topics earning in the Filipino language. And it's hard to pinpoint which one. But if we were to consider the number of posts, the categories that caught my eye were tilphilippines, literature, and filipino-poetry with $12.40, $15.26, and $13.99 average payout per post.

Yes, I believe that Filipinos have poetry their blood. The Filipino language is rich in expressing people's emotions.

Conclusion

There are different topics in each language. Depending on the culture, perhaps the interest of each community, their topics differ. As what we've seen here, the Spanish like topics like 'introduceyourself', while for the Japanese it's 'food', and lastly for Filipinos it's 'wikang-filipino.'

If ever you want to learn any other language besides English, you may want to look into these categories when composing your first post in your target language.

References

1 Ethnologue - How many languages are there in the world?


This is my entry for @paulag's #bisteemit weekly contest posted here.

All data was retrieved on September 28, 2017.


I am part of a Steemit Business Intelligence community. We all post under the tag #bisteemit. If you have an analysis you would like carried out on Steemit data, please do contact me or any of the #bisteemit team and we will do our best to help you...

You can find #bisteemit on discord - https://discordapp.com/invite/JN7Yv7j

Credits

Data retrieved from steemsql by @arcange.

Custom footer by @bearone in partnership with @steemph and @deveerei.

eastmaeL.png

Sort:  

Nice article @eastmael

Thank you bro! Highly appreciate it. :)

Nice, pag-scrap ng aking mga query sa wika!

Hahaha. That's very good Filipino. :) Thank you @dbdecoy.

Courtesy Google Translate, I have no clue if it is grammatically correct!

hi @eastmael, you are putting out some really good posts. well done. I hope that you are enjoying doing these analysis because they are valuable to the community

Hello @paulag. Yes, I am enjoying. I hope it radiates from my posts. :)

This isna very good post! We need more statisticians to showcase how Filipinos are behaving.

Thanks for the mention :)

Thank you for the efforts you put in the Filipino community. :)

A very insightful post indeed sometimes I wish I was bilingual but for now its my English and very poor Bulgarian.

Thanks for dropping by @crazybgadventure. Perhaps it's time to sharpen that Bulgarian? :D

Amazing

Thanks @amirl. I appreciate the feedback.

What a cultural ecosystem steemit has become! This is a very revealing and informative analysis, thanks for all the time spent on queries and cross checking, not to mention formatting the results.

Thanks for the feedback and appreciation @neuromancer. These type of comments encourage me to write more. :)

Great, DON'T STOP!

I've been browsing your posts, must say I'm looking forward to many more.

STEEM ON!

Thank you @neuromancer. Will do.

Great post!

Thank you @inoue. I appreciate the feedback. (^^)

What a cool idea for a post.
Really interesting analysis.
I had no idea there were that many languages.

Thank you very much for dropping by @tremendospercy. It's an honor to have you here.

Yes, I also didn't know that there were more than 7,000+ languages. I only thought they were only in hundreds, not thousands. The research for this post corrected my knowledge.

nice statistics and well made infographic

Thank you for the feedback @detlev. I tried looking for other images, but this one was perfect and I had to use it.

Image created by Minna Sundberg here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 64866.85
ETH 3369.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.45