HAPPY BIRTHDAY PAPA-PEPPER!

in #birthday7 years ago

Hooray, my 2nd Birthday celebrated on steemit!


I've been documenting a little of my activities today so that I can share a bit of "a day in the life of @papa-pepper" with you in the near future. I know that some wonder, and although you get a lot of glimpses, I figured I'd put together some events from one actual day, and what better day than my birthday?

This morning, I stopped in at the new gratefulvibes discord channel https://discord.gg/y863T7m and got to hear @paradise-found and @sunnylife sing "Happy Birthday" to me! What a wonderful start! When you combine that with the high value of SBD, it sure is a good day to celebrate being a steemian too!

TRAGEDIES ON MY BIRTHDAY

Not every December 8th has been a happy one in world history. The very day that I was born, back in 1980, was also the day that John Lennon was shot and killed. For that reason, many "older" people actually remember the day that I was born, but for another reason. Tragedies have a way of hitting home with people and causing them to remember where they were or what they were doing the day that they heard certain news, and the murder of John Lennon was one of those events.
Then, in 2004, on my 24th birthday, “Dimebag” Darrell, the guitarist from Pantera was shot and killed on December 8th. I remember hearing that he was shot, but when I realized that he died, then it hit home. While I remember the death of "Dimebag" and had always known about John Lennon, I just realized today that back in 1982, the singer Marty Robbins also died on my birthday. He died from complications from a heart attack, so at least he wasn't shot. For those of you who are not familiar with Marty Robbins, here is my favorite song that he recorded.

EL PASO - Marty Robbins

REFLECTING

Here I am today, already 37 years old. Sometimes I may look or act younger, but that's the truth of the matter. It seems in many ways that I am just beginning my life, since we stand at the doorway of our entire new future on the homestead that we are building. However, I've already been married over a decade and a father for almost eight years now.

I think that a lot of my youth was completely wasted, as I paid little attention in school (though I get really good grades) and then just did whatever I felt like for about the next decade after graduating high school. I wandered aimlessly, lived for pleasure, and thankfully escaped with my life and health.

It is sad to think that it took me so many years to understand the things that I now do. I am so blessed to have been made aware of the common "slavery" of people these days and also to have a wonderful wife who was just crazy enough to go a completely different route than the majority of Americans currently are. I can taste the freedom that awaits us every day, and step by step, we are working to teach and train our @little-peppers so that they won't have to waste so much of their lives trying to free themselves from economic bondage and the woes of modern society.

To close, I've got to once again share how fortunate I am to be here, with all of you, on steemit at this time. It truly is a revolutionary platform with amazing potential, and we are just get started!

I cannot stress enough that steemit ultimately is what we make it. We each have something to contribute, and different ways of playing a role in the community. I think that many have appreciated the way that I've interacted here, and I don't mind leading by example. I just hope that you all do what you enjoy and enjoy what you do! Thanks for being here to share my birthday with! STEEM ON!

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-birthday



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


GIF provided by @orelmely


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

Yeah, Happy Birthday @papa-pepper!

Thank you very much @future24! Enjoy the high prices of SBD!

Thank you too @papa-pepper, also enjoy it, it´s awesome! :-)

Happy Birthday!

You are wise beyond your years.
(At least wiser than I was.)
I've got 27 years on you.
What i would give to have started homesteading and homeschooling (I didn't get married until I was 48) at even 37.
The one thing I've done in common with you was pursue God.
(Although He's not hard to find, In fact He's right by our sides waiting.)

Anyway, congratulations on 37 orbits around the sun!

Thank you so much for that. With Him as my guide, it'll at least turn out well in the end, regardless of what happens "down here." Thanks @tombalistreri!

Happy Birthday my friend, from the whole #gratefulvibes community!!
It was a joy to sing Happy Birthday to you this morning!!
We had such fun greeting you and chatting.

It was great to stop in and hear you guys actually sing to me! Figured I'd plug the discord channel for you!

Happy Birthday @papa-pepper !! A big Cheers to you and John Lennon may he rest in peace... I remember that day well . I was 17 haha so long ago !! And of course a Big Cheers the FREEDOM !! May we both be enjoying it on our own homesteads in the near future !! Have an awesome year , its going to be a great one !! upped and resteemed !!🍹🍷🍻🍹🍷🍻🎂🎈🎁🎂🎁🎈

Thank you so much once again!

Your very welcome once again ! LOL!!😂👌👍✌💕🎁🎁🎁

Happy Birthday PaPa,always love the stone face. can't wait till my first

Yeah, I think I'm about to start lightening up and smiling.... maybe.

I don't know if I'd recognize you

Wishing @papa-pepper a very happy birthday, may you celebrate many more birthdays here on Steemit!

Thanks, I hope I do!

Happy Birthday to you dear @papa-pepper!
Many happy returns of the day! Prosperity and long life!
Thank you for all you do on Steemit!

Thanks @ir3k. Thank you for playing along too in the contest, as you were a lot of fun to watch!

Wow. 2 years! I haven’t been on here year yet. Congrats papa!

2 birthdays anyway... it'll be two years in July!

Also upped and resteemed !! Have a great birthday @papa-pepper !! 🎁🎂🎈🎁🎂🎈🎁🎂🎈🎁🎂🎈

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59538.61
ETH 2658.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45