Herons and Eagles at the Bird Sanctuary - Don't miss the action sequence at the end!

in #birds6 years ago (edited)

The herons were basking in the sun until this happened...

It was around 7:00 PM and I was at the Esquimalt Migratory Bird Sanctuary in Victoria, BC, taking a few photos of the birds.

DSC_3254 small.jpg

The Great Blue Herons were flying around, checking each other out, looking all glamorous and backlit.

DSC_3245 small.jpg

They were looking good and they knew it!

DSC_3218 small.jpg

Practising take off and landing...

DSC_3232 small.jpg

Playing games in the early evening sun. Life was good.

DSC_3239-2.jpg

A Bald Eagle cries... it's directly overhead! It flew off across the lagoon and I lost sight of it for a moment.

DSC_3872-2.jpg

Now some small birds like crows and seagulls are very aggressive with eagles, trying to keep them away from their nests. The herons, unfortunately, have no defence except to scream when an eagle approaches.

DSC_4097-2.jpg

The screaming defence does not work at all. Notice what this bald eagle chick is having for dinner. That can only be a heron leg stuck in its mouth!

Are you still with me? That was all just background. Here's what happened next...

At the far end of the lagoon, the herons started making a huge racket. I just had time to aim the camera.

DSC_3256 copy.jpg

A bald eagle drops out of the sky like a missile. The herons cry out in alarm and try to get out of the way!

DSC_3259.jpg

It's their lucky day, the eagle was not after them, it has spotted a fish!

DSC_3261.jpg

Here's the rest of the sequence I was so thrilled to capture - this all happened in a second!

DSC_3262.jpg

The eagle snatches a fish from the water with its talons.

DSC_3263.jpg

As it turns and heads for home the eagle bends its head down to get a good look at the catch. It's a nice size fish!

DSC_3266.jpg

The eagle flies away victorious, trailing waterdrops behind. And that's the end of my photo essay. It was a great day the be a heron! Or an eagle... not so much for the fish. Thank you very much for reading!

(All photos were taken by me using my Nikon D750 camera and Tamron 150-600 lens. The photos of the crow and eagle, and the eagle chick in the nest were taken on a different day.)

For more nature and wildlife photography follow @keithboone. Please Upvote and Resteem.... you know you wanna!

Sort:  

Thank you @curie for selecting my post. Thanks so much for your continued support it, means the world to me!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Please check the new rules of the Daily Spotlights!

Greatly appreciated @pixresteemer, thank you!

Just WOW! These birds are out of this world. I'm amazed how you could capture these moments.. Glad I found this post! Keep the good work, Your are awesome! The poor fish didn't have a chance! haha

Thanks so much for your nice comment!

Wow WOW WOW!!!! What a great sequence! All the shot are amazing as always! I love the water drops!! Always a delight, my friend!

Thanks very much! I always wanted to see an eagle catch a fish, now I want to get way closer! Glad you liked this :)

What a fun experience! And great photos to capture it!

Thank you very much!

Wow.......congratulations on this sensational post Keith. I’m very happy to see it recognised for the quality blog that it is. Enjoy the fruits of your labour’s my friend.

Thank you very much Trudee!

You’re very welcome Keith. I love a happy ending to hunting stories.......although the poor fish 🐟 was most unfortunate.

A great photo essay. You really are a great photographer. You captured some fabulous wildlife moments:)

Thank you very much I'm glad you liked it. I worked a little harder than usual on this one... what the heck, it couldn't hurt :)

It was worth it:)

As it turned out, yes! :) Thanks again my friend!

That's a lovely essay with wonderful photos Keith!

Thank you, Erika! I hope you have a great weekend!

Gardening, spring cleaning 😉. I hope you are enjoying nature this weekend!

Breathtaking imagery, Keith...I am always in awe...always:) Have a wonderful weekened :)

Thank you so much! Have a great weekend :)

How wonderful pictures are so beautiful pictures. I do not have a good quality camera. I want to be a photographer like you. The picture is very beautiful I am a natural boyfriend I grew up in the natural environment because of the beautiful scenery of nature. Let's follow your post every time I followed. Learn something from your post. never forget me.

Thank you very much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62195.97
ETH 2415.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64