Feeding the Magpies 3-10-2019steemCreated with Sketch.

in #birds6 years ago

It has been a pretty day here in Bozeman, MT and I was looking out the window, enjoying the shadows on the snow when I noticed some Magpies staring expectantly at me.
20190310_113102.jpg

Turns out that my Mother in Law feeds them peanuts and cat food! So I threw some out for them.
20190310_113134.jpg

They were pleased and spent quite a bit of time hopping around in the snow searching for the treats.

20190310_113146.jpg

I am now being watched in case I put out any more treats...

Sort:  

Magpies are pretty clever.

They can be a little hostile, though. Back when I was in Montana I'd see them occasionally harass cats. The cats probably had it coming, but it was interesting to see birds confronting them (or, really, mocking them).

The neighbor next door used to put out food for her outdoor cats and the Magpies would steal the food and harass the cats. Now she feeds them in a little enclosure that generally keeps the birds out. :)

That's cool, @jamethiel - I'm sure they were grateful to you. People around here don't like magpies but we do :D

My MIL prefers Ravens and Crows but will feed the Maggies if they are around.

Hi @jamethiel,

Thanks so much for partaking in #dailypetphotography! Please follow @dpet for upcoming events.
Our discord channel is up and running, come on over and say hi, lots of avil pet owners are awaiting you there.
https://discord.gg/GYrnsNm

Iv'e never seen one.

They seem to be a Western US native and rare in the east. They are like crows but slightly smaller and generally noisier.

These are the only Magpies I know :-)

proxy.duckduckgo.jpg

I love magpies and here in the UK one actually landed on me and was very friendly I got videos and pics or the occasion I’m no expert but I believe is was a young magpie. Very friendly though just wanted to be around me

Posted using Partiko iOS

That is so cool! I would love to get the ones around here tame enough to get close to!

I count three so who is due for a baby girl? It’s nice to keep the birds well fed in winter, my mum always had multiple bird feeders around the garden full of nuts and seeds. She also had plenty of weeds thanks to the fallen seeds!

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

Posted using Partiko iOS

Lol, there were 5 about a minute later! I had forgotten about the rhyme. The weeds are a small price to pay for the joy of birds. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62938.05
ETH 2552.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63