Nocturnal encounters: Aardwolves of the Kalahari

in #biology6 years ago (edited)

A few years back I was lucky enough to live and work in the Southern part of the Kalahari desert. Due to the nature of my research (on bat-eared foxes) I worked mainly at night, wandering the desert with a torch and a back-pack observing my study species. Of course, a happy side effect of this was that I often encountered other nocturnal species, and got to spend time in the company of other highly unusual animals which people rarely see such as aardvarks and the beautifully striped Aardwolf (Proteles cristatus).

image.jpeg
An Aardwolf on the lookout

A bit of background on aardwolves

Aardwolves are members of the hyena family which feed exclusively on termites, using their long, sticky tongues to lick them up from the ground. They are almost exclusively myrmecophagous (termite/ant eating animals), though in the aardwolf's case this diet consists primarily of Trinervitermes, a fact which keep them out of conflict with other myrmecophages, as these termites secrete a compound most animals find repellent.

image.jpeg
Trinervitermes

image.png
Aardwolf range

They are a species I had wanted to see in the wild for a very long time, and eventually I was fortunate enough to do so. These are those encounters:

First impressions last

My first such encounter began with the fox I was observing suddenly pausing mid-stride to stare unnervingly into the dark and start emitting a low, ominous growl. I looked in the direction he was staring, shining my inadequate torch into the night and wondering what was about to emerge over the dune we were facing. This is always a fun experience in the dark, alone and on foot. After a couple of tense minutes I saw movement, something trotting towards us and found myself for the first time face to face with one of the desert night's most unusual inhabitants.

image.jpeg
And you thought hyenas were ugly!

I was absolutely transfixed as he silently approached, flared his mane at us and then, just as quietly, slipped away back into the dark. The whole encounter lasted about five minutes, during which time of course my fox took the opportunity to ditch me and left me wandering home with a big, stupid smile on my face at having encountered a creature, albeit briefly, which I'd wanted to see for years.

Second time's the charm

My second encounter was some months later and happened as I was searching fruitlessly for a fox. I caught something in my torchlight, eye-shine in the distance at just about the right height, then another set of eyes that stayed perfectly still as I approached. Those aren't foxes, I realized belatedly as the stripes flickered in my torchlight. I found myself staring at two young, utterly inexperienced aardwolf pups that looked back at me with the same brazen curiosity.

image.jpeg
Yes, they're even cuter when they're this size

Being the hard-boiled zoologist that I am I absolutely did NOT make the sort of ridiculous gurgly cooing sound most people reserve for little kittens. I didn't. I swear. Ok I did but c'mon! Those things were cute. At any rate, the pups seemed not to mind as they went about their exploratory business allowing me to follow at a respectful distance. I spent about half an hour with them that night, before they retreated to the entrance of a nearby den and simply sat watching me, with no apparent fear or idea of what I even was.

It was the sort of magical moment that led me into my profession in the first place, an absolutely peaceful and mutually curious close encounter with a rarely seen and spectacular creature. As I turned to leave, the pups curled up, quite content to remain outside the den, presumably awaiting their parents return or whatever the next strange thing was the night had to offer.

A final word

Like many species, these guys are persecuted due to a lack of knowledge about their biology. Local farmers often poison or shoot them, believing the aardwolves to be a danger to livestock. Of course nothing could be further from the truth. So if you ever happen to be in those parts of the world where the wild aardwolves roam, be sure to share that fact with the people whose land they roam on :)

Well, Happy Steeming People,
The Wise Fox

General aardwolf facts:
http://www.africat.org/fact/aardwolf
http://www.krugerpark.co.za/africa_aardwolf.html

Images:
All images except pups and termite are from wikimedia commons, pups from:
http://boredomtherapy.com/aardwolf-is-cute/
termite: http://tolweb.org/onlinecontributors/app;jsessionid=B42800BC2DAA6FADCBDCC41A62FA5669?page=ViewImageData&service=external&sp=6845

The STEEM Engine

Sort:  

Back when I was a child, in the days when the only jobs open to women were as nurses, teachers, cashiers or secretaries, I decided I wanted to be a zoologist. I have no idea how I planned to make a living at that. Mostly, I wanted to hang out with animals, befriend them, watch them having babies and enjoying life. Your posts bring back those memories and I always enjoy reading them.

This excellent post was included in our new curation effort The Magnificent Seven -- a collaborative work by @enchantedspirit and @catweasel. You have received a 100% upvote from each of us to show our appreciation for your post. To see your creation showcased here ... and the fine company you keep ... please visit this link.

The Magnificent Seven

We appreciate your support both for our work on this project and for the other creators of exceptional content who make it all possible. (Follow @catweasel to catch our future Magnificent Seven posts. He's really not as annoying as you might think. <--- He always makes me say that.)

Hey, @enchantedspirit thanks for stopping by :).

I'm glad my animal posts inspire - I enjoy writing them very much! As for making a living out of zoology? I think basically every zoologist who isn't David Attenborough is still trying to figure that one out 😂

Awesome shot! Yea it does seem like they get a bad reputation just cause there Night creatures!

Ur lucky to have encountered these creatures. Nice pics too

HI thanks :) these are not my pics though. Mostly from wikimedia commons. It's very difficult to photograph at night in the field when you're carrying a zillion other research tools :)

I'd never even heard of these guys before, they're amazing! Super jealous!

That was how I felt when after a year in the desert I'd still not seen a pangolin and 5 days after I left for the last time a friend sent me pictures of one shed encountered there 😭

What about the people that have waited years to catch a glimpse of a snow or clouded leopard, let alone take a picture of one? I am always amazed by the patience and sharp senses of a zoologist :)

Yeah, those nat geo and bbc photographers are legends - they have unbelievable amounts of patience!

Oh my dog, they are so cute!!! ^_^

Yeah, absolutely charming creatures :)

Such beautiful creature breaks my heart knowing they are killed.

As always, it's a matter of education. People think they are protecting their interests but they really just need to learn about the species they are dealing with. I do understand it from the farmer's perspective as well. I stayed on a farm once where the owners lambs were being decimated by jackals at a rate of one a day, which is financially unsustainable, but even in such cases there are better methods than killing the animals which can be employed.

Thanks for reading :)

I would have thought that these creatures would stay away...you know be a little shy at approaching humans but seems like luck is on your side if you encountered them. Really wonderful pictures you took. Thanks for sharing them :)

I honestly think the pups had just never encountered a human before, so didn't know to be afraid ;)

Great post are they aard as in earth like the aardvark is?

I grew up watching a movie called Animals are beautiful people as such I have always had a fascination with the animals of the Kalahari, Sahara, and the White Namib.

Ah jeez, yes I meant to mention that 😆 Yes, aardwolf is literally "earth wolf"

And I plan on writing a few more Kalahari posts, so stay tuned ;)

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue #9 (1/6/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today!

This post has been resteemed from MSP3K courtesy of @isaria from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69114.01
ETH 3773.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.53