You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How Cell Membranes Form Spontaneously

in #biology6 years ago (edited)

I recall wondering, long ago, how it is water (as a body) exists. In other words, I understand what makes a water molecule, but I do not recall ever seeing an explanation as to why these molecules stay together to form a body (should I say, a discernable body) or mass of water for slaking my thirst. I can imagine that trying to satisfy my thirst, molecule by molecule, would not be very satsfying.

Thanks, I've learnt a bit from you, you are much better at it than my teachers ever were (more than 60 years ago).
:)

Sort:  

This comment somehow fell by the wayside!

Yes, the water(s) are hydrophilic, so they like to interact with themselves, which is why they form beads on surfaces, instead of being flat. The bonding is so strong that bugs can walk on water, aptly called Jesus bugs!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95