My ride, it's a custom 1985 Honda Rebel.

in #bike6 years ago (edited)

She maybe 33 years old, but this Rebel is always on the Run.

20180621_180024.jpg
(My current 6th child)

Honda has recently revamped one of its most recognized model families for the 21st century, with a complete overhaul of the Rebel range. Available as the Rebel 300 and 500, this reworked line sports water-cooled mills and fuel-injection induction control topped off with a sportier look. While I like the new Rebel specs.... I'm not a big fan of the look.
2018_Honda_Rebel_300.webp
Source

In saying that, I'm not really a big fan of the old style standard Honda Rebel either (as pictured below).
300px-Hondarebel250.JPG
Image source
Due to a limited amount of "decent" mechanics in town, I've been able to track down who has serviced the bike over the years and been given a run down on the history of the bike. From the quirky Japanese man who first modified and imported it, to the 2 other owners after the bike was imported from Japan.

I have had this Bad boy for over 3 years now. And even though she is old and beaten up... I think it simply adds to her character, plus we live in a dusty country with dirt roads everywhere, so it's a good reason not to have to wash your bike so often... (that's my excuse, and I'm sticking to it)😋.
Originally, the bike was listed for over $1500, but I managed to pick it up for only $600. With people leaving our tourist/expat town on a regular basis... If your patient, you can always pick up a bargain or a variety of items. Motorbikes being one of the more profitable purchases, however in this case... We fell in love.
2018-06-30 03.33.10.jpg

Before I picked this puppy up I had only ever owned dirt bikes. Actually when I originally bought this, I still had an XR250 which was great, but I was always too busy to take it off road. Around town it wasn't to bad for getting around, the higher riding height allowed for sight over cars and was great when you needed a burst of power to cut through traffic.
I had only paid $600 for also, I think originally that was listed at $1100 also. But I sold that to a friend, who crashed it the night I gave him the keys and a helmet(at first he refused to buy a helmet, so I included mine with the bike), he ended up killing himself on a different bike in Thailand anyway. (but that's another story R.I.P Jason).
559000003250701-1.jpeg
Image Source
FB_IMG_1530310611169.jpg
(The old Honda Xr250)

About the Original Rebel.

It's a great bike for a beginner and is sought after for its ease of use and wide power band. Maneuverable when negotiating low speed turns, and great when cruising down the highway leaning into big sweepers. Best you can get if you are looking for a cruiser style, reliable, fuel efficient motorcycle.
The Rebel is powered by an air-cooled 234cc V-twin engine that has proven itself for decades. The engineers at Honda have perfected this little powerhouse making it virtually bulletproof. The engine looks a little small in the frame of the bike, especially when compared to a larger cruiser. But that small engine really helps to keep the weight extremely low. Filled up with oil and gasoline this bike only weighs around 149kg (329 lbs).

Specs

  • Suggested base price: $2999
  • Wet weight: 149kg or 329 lb.
  • GVWR: 675 lb.
  • Seat height: 67.5cm or 26.6 in.
  • Wheelbase: 145cm or 57.1 in.
  • Overall length: 211.5cm or 83.3 in.
  • Rake/trail: 30 degrees / 11.1cm or 4.4 in.
  • Handlebar width: 81.2cm 32.0 in.
  • Fuel capacity: 9.8lt or 2.6 gal.
  • Fuel mileage: 3.56L/100km or 66 mpg
  • Average range: 276.8 km 172 miles
  • Engine type: Air-cooled, four stroke vertical twin
  • Transmission: 5 speed manual
  • Final drive: Chain, 33/14
  • Front suspension: 33mm stanchions, 4.6 in. travel
  • Rear suspension: Two dampers, 2.9 in. travel, adjustable for preload
  • Brakes: Front: single-disc with twin-piston caliper
    Rear: drum
  • Wheels: Wire-spoke, 1.85 x 18 in. front, 2.75 x 15 in. rear standard.
    (My front wheel is actually 21 in.)

Pros:

  • Great for low speed turns
  • Light weight
  • Engine is bulletproof

Cons:

  • Looks a little dated
  • Taller riders may find it too small
  • Suspension is a little soft
    Source

As much as I love my little Old Rebel, I'm not a fan of the newer style.

So when I can afford it, I think instead of staying with Rebel series. I'll upgrade to a Honda steed or somthing similar, it's a lager cruiser with a similar old school style to the Rebel. A friend was recently seeking his 400 Steed, but I couldn't afford it... Plus If I'm going to upgrade I'd rather jump to the 600cc.

For now, I appreciate the old girl.

When parked in town tourists often take photos and if I'm near the bike people will ask questions about it.
image-0-02-06-f4a688b01b3cb1db9f1f2c0191d04f12c04de4f4cc968f98e3174b5df1081a9a-V.jpg
(One of the street kids sleeping on my bike)
It also doubles as a bed for my private security when I park it at the bar!

A group of us rode to Battambang province for the annual powerfest, it's only a 166km ride to the airport, but because of the roads it ends up being a 3 hour ride.

FB_IMG_1518984502926.jpg
(we stopped for beer and a smoke and to let the second group catch up. My wife @mumma-monza and I on the far right, unfortunately for my wife her bike broke down the day before the ride, after just coming back from the mechanic too)
FB_IMG_1530328499200.jpg
As you can see from the pillow down the back of my wife pants, the pillion seat isn't the most comfortable.
FB_IMG_1530328784675.jpg
(But as you can see, her love for bikes started long ago this is her back in Australia, and her current bike the Honda Phantom is pictured below)
15303294890561439353524.jpg

FB_IMG_1530328773499.jpg
(Here she is again on the far left with her Phantom Riders Club)

The second annual Siem Reap bike meet is less than 2 months away, I'd love to buy a few little accessories from ebay. But I've never tried from Cambodia before, Amazon won't even deliver to Cambodia.😢
FB_IMG_1530328965849.jpg
FB_IMG_1530333023622.jpg
(A few of the boys from the Rebels MC and the Dirty Cuts MC at our old bar after last year's event)
Last year was a great turn out for their first year, will be interesting to see what the boys have planned for this year.
philippekiene.png
footers_learn-1.png
dustsweeper ad.jpg
(this is a referal link, you can claim 700 tokens weekly)

(Manna, is another UBI click the referal link to sign up for free)
(Click on my banner above to see more of my posts)

Sort:  

Beautiful bikes yours and those of your family, I see that you are very passionate about it. I'm sorry about your friend, it seems like he was a bit overbold.

20180630_115435.jpg
My son just got home on his bike... He's also got a Honda Phantom, but he's put flames on the side of his. Needs a good wash though.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by PhilippeKiene[philippekiene] from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Your Post Had Been resteemed on @sam-resteem

resteem your steemit post using sam-resteem platform
--how it works:--
post your steemit URL post following this link below
https://busy.org/@sam-resteem/resteem-your-content-17

Thanks for using sam-resteem platform
Follow @sam-resteem

Hey @philippekiene, you just received a random 100% upvote for your activity at the @minnowsmith project! Stay tuned and keep mining. :)

Thank you. Love how easy it is to use.

Your post was resteemed by @resteemza
Please upvote this reply to help us grow

Resteemza image small.jpg

@philippekiene , You are good biker , Good job create Phantom Riders Club. I hope you add me in your steemit followers list . Please comment on my creation .https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@vijaysingh/what-happened-after-3-and-5-july-in-india

Nice bikes man. I never got into them but they look fun

Thanks. Yeah around Asia they make alot more sense than cars. We have a car. But use the bike far more often.

Ya'll have very nice bikes!
Sounds like you got a great steal on yours! Super cool!

Thanks, yeah we have a few. There is another one that I haven't pictured. It's the delivery bike from our old bar/restaurant with Rockabilly's written on the sides of the tank.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61572.53
ETH 2995.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73