My Experience Buying an Upvote UPDATED FOR TODAY'S MARKET

in #bidbot7 years ago (edited)

About a month ago I wrote a post My Experience Buying an Upvote and My Conclusions. In that post I concluded that buying the upvote resulted in a net gain of about 30%. The gain was entirely in SP and I took a small loss in SBD (also about 30%).

Here is my direct conclusion from the initial post "I spent $2.487 SBD so I netted -$0.826 SBD and 1.841 STEEM power. I get my negative figure by subtracting the $.9 and my investment of $2.487 [SBD] from the payout. In the end – the vote purchase was a positive over a non-purchase by about 85 cents. That value is locked in STEEM power, but it was a net gain." (I added "SBD" in the second sentence, even though it is clear from the first sentence)

Here is what my payout looked like:

I think we can all agree that the market was a bit different a month ago. Steem and SBD were tracking each other closely and thus I concluded that I netted a small profit. Could I say the same today? Using Coinmarketcap's STEEM price I see that steem is selling for $1.88 right now, while Coinmarketcap's SBD price is $8.76. Looking at the internal market I see that 1 SBD will buy over 6 STEEM.

Internal Market.png

If one SBD is worth 6 STEEM right here on the internal market, Taking a $0.826 SBD loss is NOT made up when I have a 1.841 SP gain. For those that are brand new, SP and STEEM are the same currency, but SP has to go through a 13 week powerdown before it fully transforms into liquid STEEM. At the current rate, a $0.826 SBD loss is equal to -$7.24 USD while the 1.841 SP gain is +$3.46 USD. The net of this transaction with all other factors being equal except market conditions is -$3.78 USD.

While under the conditions a month ago I was able to claim a small net gain (a little less than $1 USD), my net of the same transaction today would be a decent sized loss. The advice I gave last month is still good though, because buying upvotes didn't do nearly as much for me as commenting on posts and networking in the discords has. I can say this a month further in my journey into the STEEM blockchain. I have been decidedly social in that last month or so, and have come out better for it.

I hope to see you all in the comments and in the discords.

Sort:  

It seems to be the consensus that bidbots are only good if you bid 10+ and stalk the bot tracker

I'm not going to get into an argument over my thoughts on buying votes. But this is well written so....This post has been deemed resteem & upvote worthy by your friendly @eastcoaststeem ran by @chelsea88 (not a bot)

Congratulations! This post has been randomly Resteemed! To join the ResteemSupport network and be entered into the lottery please upvote this post and see the following rules.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.22
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 65343.70
ETH 3384.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.18