Novacadian's Nova Scotia Biking Tours (Part 1)

in #bicycle6 years ago

Tried to give a proper heads up on my original intro post about my intention to vlog my biking in and around my city. Its more than a heads up, now, footage has started to roll!

My first step was to acquire a phone mount for my bike. After some searching online a Model TT-SHO13 by Taotronics was chosen. Once mounted it was time to try out my first take. It did not go the best. Let's think of it as a learning curve. No one got hurt. Nothing was broken... well maybe my pride....

http://trollkeep.com/images/bike-vid-1-20180405.mp4

The mount required some modifications to hold the phone properly. And to calm any concerns, the phone lived to phone again. This would not be my recommended mount and my thought is to change to something that will fit on my helmet like a miner's lamp.

For the time being with the help of a little gaffer tape things seemed secure. Left my Brother's place in, what is hoped to be, the last snow of the season. Having biked through most of this winter it was not about to stop me. My camera did get mysteriously stopped even before the ride got started, however. Thought things were rolling all the way home. Nice shot of my bro though....

http://trollkeep.com/images/bike-vid-2-20180409.mp4

Hopefully Take Three will be more substantive.

Sort:  

How much did you pay for the cam? I wanna try mount a camera on my dash in my car. The footage seems quite good.

That's my old Galaxy S5 taking the video. The camera quality surprised me actually.

I liked it and I will read you)

Nice to meet you @novacadian

That was a short tour hhahaa!! Loved watching the phone bail lol :)

Have been getting lots of footage for a nice cross city ride, through Point Pleasant Park and along the boardwalk opposite George's Island. We're talking Oscar if Blender can handle the editting. 😎

What softwsre do you use @lyndsaybowes?

Dude, these were awesome! I loved the first take. Your brother didn't seem to enthused about his pending viral status!

Glad you got a kick out of the first take, Papa. After ensuring that the phone survived the fall then it actually cracked me up as well. My Bro is not the most tech welcoming of individuals, though it would have been nice had he fained an interest in my vlog. ;)

Thanks for sharing. I love that you have a niche going. I wonder if there is way to stream riding a bike. I thought about mounting my iphone on a bike before and just pressing record haha. I like to map my city so I feel you on blogging your biking journeys. It's getting warmer here so I can't wait to ride around again without slush splashing everywhere. Lol

That would be cool, @omitaylor. We could start a tag #ridewithme as opposed to #walkwithme which has had much success.

I would totally do that. It warms up around mid-may here. By then I should have a mounting setup. I have an Android too so maybe that would be easier to find a mount for. I think my son has a gopro. I only know the basics of editing though. Interested in seeing what you do with your footage. Maybe I can learn by watching what you do first.

Sounds cool. Should be starting in on editting when back home in a couple of days. Will be trying Blender as my editting software.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61060.27
ETH 2927.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55