StorJ; A Community Driven Cloud Storage [25GB Free Included]steemCreated with Sketch.

in #beyondbitcoin7 years ago (edited)

What is StorJ

StoreJ is a community driven "cloud" storage program. Anyone willing to rent out their drive and bandwidth to the community can do so, and in turn, receives payments in their Ethereum ERC20 StorJ Token.

StorJ is not mining. Instead, it rewards for a usage case which in this case is renting out space, bandwidth, and availability.

Now with FileZilla Transferring Support and 25GB Free Storage!

Signup Today

Renting Storage

Renting storage on the StorJ Network has become quite easy as FileZilla announced their collaboration and support for the platform. When storing data on the StorJ Network, it will first be encrypted by your client and then put up in pieces and distributed to several nodes for accessibility and redundancy.

Only you have the private keys to your files, and only you can put them together again. Without having to trust third-party storage centers to make sure that your data is secure, you can rely on StorJ; an open-source application built by the community and reviewed by everyone!

Renting prices are currently set to $0.015/GB/Month Usage and $0.05/GB Transfers (download).

For $1/month you will get 66GB of Storage.
For $10/month you will get 666GB of Storage.

Included for Free Every Month is 25GB Storage and Transfer

Getting Started with FileZilla Transfers

Selling Storage

Renting out storage on the StorJ network is very easy, and only requires an Etherum wallet address and the click and run software, which is open-source and available on GitHub. The current version is now 7.1.0 and receives frequent updates.

Recommendations are to run the software on something that will be online 24 hours a day since nodes that are down for extended periods of time will gain less or even no rewards at all.

Your payment is based on several factors but relies on factors as storage capacity, storage usage, bandwidth speed and network delays. Payment is made to your Etherum wallet address once a month, and all payment calculations are posted in a spreadsheet in the StorJ Community Chat.

For the Technical Nerds you have a detailed White Paper

Signup Today

Vote for me as Witness

Do You enjoy what I contribute to the community, consider voting for my Witnesses or as a Steemit Proxy Voter.

By voting for me as a witness, you will support an active witness on Steem and BitShares. I believe a witness should keep up-to-date on current happenings and be a conduit between the many users and the system.

Read my Witness Posts: BitShares, Steemit

Support my Projects: Project Minnow Witness, Gridcoinstats.eu, Crypto.fans

Steemit: sc-steemit
BitShares: sc-ol

Proud Supporter of the Cryptocurrency Gridcoin

Sort:  

I've got a few TB doing nothing, this may be a good use for them as the machines are on 24/7 anyway.

Just reorganising some storage and I should be able to give it a go.

I can't wait to see who will take the lead between Siacoin and Storj =)

With the usage of FileZilla Storj has taken an advantage I think. I haven't used Sia anything though, so I shouldn't compare them :)

I will keep an eye on it =D. I hold Sia and MaidSafe so far =)

Interested in who will take the lead as well. Also Maidsafe and Filecoin are in the race. Although Siacoin and Storj seem to be the only ones with working products out so far.

Agree yes. I hold Sia and MaidSafe for now just in case =D

I started with Storj quite a while ago before they changed from storjcoin to the new iteration.

Unfortunately I found that the software impinged on my server's resources a bit too much so I stopped renting space.

Always thought I'd return when the software improved. Always thought the idea was great.

Sounds cool, ill check it out. Only problem is i only have about 50GB left on my hard drive, so the question is "is it worth it?".
Really liked your post btw!
@lillieskold

I wouldn't recommend running StorJ for renting out space with such small space available. You can always try, but I doubt it would generate that much for you.

I'm running it on a server that runs 24/7 and shares a drive with 3TB, so far 60% used on it.

Yea that's what i thought, i will barely make 1$ a month. But it's a cool concept for those who actually can run servers 24/7 like you do. Best of luck!

You should try renting some space instead 😁👍

Yea maybe! i'll atleast check it out to see if it's worth :).

I know it varies, but on rough estimate, how much does 1TB get you monthly?

My STORJ program was working fine and getting Offers and built up to 6.92 GB, but then it just stopped. Any suggestions?

I've already restarted and reloaded the program.

For how long have you been running it?
Have you opened your fire walls to enable direct contact with others?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63350.70
ETH 2595.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85