You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why the STEEM market cap is inevitably headed >1B

in #beyondbitcoin8 years ago

Great post and 100% agree that it is just a beginning. I have been suggesting to attract more and more developers as well, be it through social media or be it through bountysource.com, etc. I have started eSteem and yet, I wish I could have more time in a day to developer of my other project ideas... though I think once development of eSteem reaches stability point where updates flow is at fixed rate, expect more projects from my side :-)

Sort:  

I'm not really a believer in bounties. They can help, but they only attract a certain type (who can stomach that level of risk).

Here's the equation that (most) devs follow with bounties and startups where payment is deferred:

(value of time invested) * (likelihood of payout) = $x

vs

steady payments from a dedicated customer or employer = $x

Dev work does not always go the way that developers think it will at the outset, and developers know enough to know this. There's a good deal of risk inherent in starting any dev project, and sometimes the customer isn't aware of that risk. This is why the best devs usually contract on a 50% now, 50% after completion basis, or even a 100% upfront basis: Often it is the dev spec that is to blame, not the developer.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56922.13
ETH 2347.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43