Bitshares and Steemit Whale - Design and steps !

in #beyondbitcoin7 years ago

Hi everybody!

This time I wanted to make a design for the amazing @officialfuzzy, just to show my gratitude for all the good advices given almost daily, all his patience and because the whale he uses in his post hurt my eyes he's a great guy that helps the community in ways you couldn't even imagine yet.

So before we get into the process and the new image of his now, I want to invite you to join us to the next virtual hangouts that is organized every Friday. You will be able to understand a little bit deeper about what #steemit #bitshares and #whaleshares can do for you and for the community and society itself. Also you will be able to introduce yourself and have the opportunity to talk with geniuses from the present topics!

Said that, Let's get started !

(Before that tho' and to not write "Credit: Anritco" under every single image: All the images are my own creation and so I own the rights of them)

whale_Fuzzy_1.jpg

Since it is already tradition, let's start from the final result!

I wanted also to tell you that I tried to animate this little fellow but failed miserably. So I decided to make few short animations just showing the step by step of it as always ;).

For this artwork I really wanted to do something original. Something that would bring a lot of "coolness" to the character, a lot of originality and personality. So the dynamics were almost everything. See how I drew the first "S" shape and then everything else around and based on that!

whale_fuzzy_process_1.gif

You guessed right! The "S" shape is mostly for giving some rhythm and even better dynamics to the whole artwork! It really works! I use it in almost all the concept designs I use to do for all type of clients of the art industry. And I have almost never heard complaints!

After the first and predominant shape we proceed to make a really fast and innacurated sketch to start telling to our eyes how the structure will be. Something like telling to our eyes "hey, we are slowly moving from lines and shapes to a 3D interpretation of light and shadows! (because the color not yet, no no my lord!... Remember, step by step).

But then the color comes and yes, it makes things sooo complicated ! Yeeey!

Just a little reminder about how I apply colors: when I start from the scratch with a gray-scale base I ALWAYS place colors with a gradient map due to the amazing variations you can get from it. Sometimes I use even two, three, FOUR different gradient maps in different parts of the painting and for different elements-materials. For this particular artwork I only used one and then added a "normal layer" with few colors. Finally some levels and exposure correction plus an overlay layer and there you go!

Woha! In my head all these adjustments sounded like an easy cake. But reading the previous paragraph it sounds more like indications for building a nuclear weapon than a digital painting!

And we are heading our final stop (Yeah! That escalated quickly!): Rendering!

And we will try something new here! To show the whole process from one shot!

whale_fuzzy_process_2.gif

Ohh look at the magic of that .gif! It is soo cool!

Without going to deep into this, the first step is to understand which areas is the one that has to be rendered more than others! Remember about the areas of interests? If not, I recommend you to give a look to this post where I take you through the process of one of my portraits and I explain this topic with a lot of love.

And for this artwork I had since the very beginning defined which would be the focal point and focus area. And actually made a circle pointing it! (Actually if you see closer you will find out that since I start rendering, everything stars there, in that area, and then it spreads all to the surroundings).

Once that we have the colors, the structure, the materials and textures (and of course, the right light, cast shadows and scattering) we can call it finished! But there are few things that need to be there to referring to our beloved Fuzzy...

details.gif

And that's the end! Now it's all set up and really for deliver! No more words to say but thank you and have a great, great day (or night)!

WhaFuzz Says Thanks for Your Attention!

whale_Fuzzy_avatar1.jpg


I must apologize due that the size of the gifs is really big. Please tell me in the comments if it represented a issue for you and if so, in the next posts I promise to change that =))

Also any kind of suggestion or idea to change will be welcome! Don't be shy and shout if necessary!

Bye!

Sort:  

cool :) Great post!

Thanks a lot !! =))

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Anritco (Nic Morales) from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

you such a cryptopreneuring on creating art while blogging same time. extreme multi-tasking there

Woha! I must ask what s a cryptopreneuring ?? Even tho' I don't know what it is it sounds like a good compliment! Thank you!

Haha, can you explain your name to me in your own word's? What you got going on in the crypto space?

You mean mine or to @cryptopreneur? :P

There are Entrepreneurs who will dive into crypto. dubbed cryptopreneur

nice work and good animation effects

Congratulations @anritco! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

good design skills - i am a novice and little tips help me get the idea

I'm super happy this helps you to improve some how! Actually this is the whole point of showing the process. See, we can learn a lot by teaching the theory, but the main learning is when you see how other people work and imitating or just taking few little tips from what you see on their workflow ;)

Although new tutorials coming in the future! =)

i appreciate the little gems you shared and will keep an eye open for more - i posted one of my songs today and it features my art on the album cover -drop in if your interested -David

I would prob put just a out anything you make as my avatar man...

Oh man! I feel flattered! It's an honor ! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59317.93
ETH 2530.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47