Better DLive Survey: What I Like About DLive & What I Would Like to See ImprovesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #betterdlive6 years ago

Good day, Steemians!


I am in search of an honorable decentralized video platform to share yoga instructionals, so I'm excited about the potential of @dlive!



What is DLive?

DLive is the first decentralized video live streaming platform on Steem! It can be seen as the Twitch on the Steem blockchain including, but not limited to, gaming contents. ~ from here


It's designed as a site for decentralized live streaming, but it also has capabilities for uploading recorded videos. Until all the plants come back to life in spring and I have a lovely spot outdoors with wifi access to live stream a yoga session, I'll probably focus on sharing recorded videos for now. 



Yesterday I made my first post using DLive, and I have lots of observations and suggestions for their new feedback campaign. 

What I like about DLive:

  • Decentralized video platform - surely most people on the blockchain know Youtube sucks, and @dlive is a legit alternative to centralization that steals your data for corporate profit. 
  • Creators can get actual value for their videos without ads!
  • Can use lots of tags.
  • Uses SteemConnect to sign in.
  • Uploading is easy and obvious. Can drag & drop or click to find your file.
  • Posting on DLive automatically makes a post on Steemit. 
  • No fees - "DLive will take 0 transaction or commission fees from broadcasters and users." (source)
  • You can edit the video description after posting.
  • The DLive team makes themselves available for suggestions. It's always a good sign when the developers want to hear from the users and really consider the user experience! There's a feedback form on DLive, a Discord channel, campaigns for feedback like this one, and making their contact info available: steemit.chat@DLive

What I would like to see improve:

  • After I uploaded my first video to DLive yesterday, I edited my Steemit post (title, body, and tags), and it made my video disappear from DLive. That's a big problem. Would be nice if that didn't happen at all, but if it's going to be a long or difficult fix it would be great to have some notification on DLive, something like "Make sure your Steemit post is exactly how you want it to appear! Editing through Steemit will make erase the video from DLive."
  • I can't change my profile's settings. DLive automatically loaded my user profile image from Steemit, but not my cover photo (?), and it wouldn't save or display when I filled out the various fields.
  • Search bar is not functioning. Anything I searched, including users I know are on DLive, turned up No result found with keyword "blah blah blah"
  • It's difficult to find or follow other users. 
  • Emojis aren't supported in video descriptions.
  • I like that there are lots of tags, but it automatically makes every tag start with dlive - dliveyoga, dlivefitness, dlivehealth, etc. I want to tag just "yoga".
  • I would like more video editing capabilities in the future. I understand it's new and not there yet, and besides their main function is live streaming, but nonetheless if I'm making a "features wishlist", more editing capability is on it.
  • Uploading a video is a 3 step process: 1) select a video, 2) enter video info while file uploads, 3) edit Steemit post. Is markdown supported for step 2? It doesn't say, and I didn't try. It's definitely supported for step 3, BUT the preview didn't properly display the commanded formatting. 
  • Uploading is pretty intuitive, but it would be cool to have have little pop up dialogue box tutorials the first time you upload that say "Upload a photo for a thumbnail here!" or "Use markdown to make this description pop!" or "Yay isn't DLive fun!" or "Taxation is theft!" or whatever. It's great to provide super clear communication and instructions for new users, and we notice and appreciate those considerate little touches. 
  • Livestreams don't automatically save to your profile. Would be cool if they did!
  • .mp4 is only file format supported. Would be great to easily upload from a mobile device, which are usually .mov files. That's one thing Youtube has going for it.
  • Max file size for uploads is 1 GB which encourages lower quality files; I'd like to see this higher.
  • The player freezes A LOT. It's frustrating to watch even a short video. 


I'm glad the @dlive team is calling for feedback, because I would love for this to be the best site it can be! 








💛 Sara! 

Sort:  

<3

Love you QiQi!!!

Really good review. I totally agree, hope this gets some attention.

Bless~*~

Thank you, hopefully @dlive will take it into consideration and improve the platform!

I also like I am on the front trending page every day ;-)>

I love that you are experimenting and sharing this valuable information. You're awesome!

seems really great thank you saraa

You're welcome, check out DLive and let them know what you think!

Thanks for this valuable post sharing...i appreciate this video.best of luck dear....

You're welcome

Thanks dear...

Men you do have some create content keep it up looking forward to more!!!

Oh yeah? You like this create content?

Thanks for listing this in such great detail, extremely time saving and helpful. I'm looking forward to using Dlive when I find a good purpose for it, and I'm also looking forward to the new pathways for your content, which is always high quality.

Muy buen proyecto, espero que todo salga bien :D

Upvote and resteem this post.

I will use this practice.
I hope you succeed. good luck :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 57951.98
ETH 3051.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26