Fire - My SteemitPhotoChallenge Entry #1

in #bescouted7 years ago (edited)

bescouted_photo.jpg

When I share photos I've made with the Helios 44-2 lens, I always get questions about how I achieved the bokeh and if it was done in Photoshop. When I first saw photos made with this lens specifically modified to enhance this distinctive swirly bokeh on the internet, I was stunned. Just a few days later I already had one in my hands and I was ready to do the simple modification procedure and hit the meadows in search for flowers to take photos of.

Despite the fact that I already have 8 different lenses at my disposal, this modified vintage Helios 44-2 remains my favorite lens by far and I never go out shooting without packing it in my gear bag.

You can see the original unedited photo that I took and the effect that this lens can produce organically in camera below.

20 or.JPG


SettingsValues
CameraNikon D90
LensHelios 44-2 (modified)
Focal Length58mm
ISO200
Shutter1/640 s

This is my first entry for the Steemit Photo Challenge by @jamtaylor.


You can check more of my work on Instagram as well.


logo 2 b p 8.jpg

bescouted.gif

Sort:  

Thank you for posting @naydenova.

Lovely photographs and write-up.

Welcome to Steemit.

Cheers.

Thank you for your comment, I'm very glad you like it! :)

How do you create this dizzying effect? Is it made using Photoshop or through movements of the camera?

Neither. It's from the lens. It's a vintage manual lens that creates this effect a bit naturally that has been modified to enhance it significantly. The original photo that you see in the post was shot with just the Helios 44-2 lens and a camera that was not intentionally moved or anything.

Oh, gotcha! I asked again in another comment before seeing this. Cool! I didn't know there were lenses like that.

The unedited photo already looks out of this world :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by naydenova from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Incredible work, thanks for sharing!

Aha, it is a lens! I was trying to find in your post a Photoshop technique or some sort of creative layer! It all makes sense now! Turns flowers into a beautiful dreamy composition! Lovely! Need to look into it, hehe!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63350.70
ETH 2595.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85