Edinburgh Winter Wonderland

in #bescouted6 years ago

bescouted_photo.jpg

Snow can transform the mundane into the silently beautiful. I love snow. I love how it changes the landscape in a way no other weather can. Its like the whole land is covered in a blanket, and the way snow seems to mute ambient sound is incredible. Everything goes quite and all you can hear is the crunching of the snow under your boots.
Now in Scotland we get snow in the winters, but in Edinburgh we tend to just get rain most of the time (its raining now surprise surprise).
This photo was taken at a special time I wish we would experience again. It was 2010 (one of my older shots! I started photography in 2007) and we were in the middle of the coldest winter we'd seen in a long time. Personally I had never experienced anything so cold. It was -20C, the coldest I ever experienced in my life was -5C and that was the previous winter! I grew up in the tropics. In the media they called it 'The Big Freeze'.
Well I was at the christmas market with my dad who's flight had been cancelled due to the weather so so we were killing time till his next flight and I took this shot. It was just a brief moment where I took a shot over a few people's heads. I was amazed it turned out like this. I put it on facebook and all my friends said it looked like a postcard. In the end it became one of the first prints I ever sold. Another milestone! It wasn't until much later I realised how lucky that was and how damn difficult it is to sell art online. I still struggle greatly with it. I'm a terrible salesman. Its a weakness I have to work on.


Thanks for Looking.
Follow me and read more of my posts here: @fiftysixnorth
Don't forget to Upvote and Resteem

Sort:  

A gift for you
from my own hand
I hope you like
my Winter Wonderland

That's awesome, thanks! :) I'll go check it out now.

Such a beautiful winter scene, I feel tjhis winter for us will rival that winter have had such bitterly cold days of recent and a fooot of snow yesterday which is now turned to ice

Roll on summer for me

Thanks! Yes, I've been hearing about it in the news here. It seems crazy, really strong blizzards and such. I love snow but I don't love it that much, you have my sympathies!

A light snow fall can look so pretty a foot of it and ice not so much lol

lol! yes indeed :)

This is a wonderful picture! I really like snow as well when it comes to photography, otherwise not really it just makes life harder :D

Thanks! Yes it really can complicate everyday life :)

Looks too cold for me. Coincidentally I posted a summer time photo of the Royal Mile tonight.
https://steemit.com/streetphotography/@dabeckster/street-photography-the-royal-mile

Cool! I'l check it out :)

Beautiful pic dear. Indeed snow can transform pics into beauties. Wish u good luck with your online sales . I am sure marketing is not that difficult. Keep trying :-) Regards Nainaz.
#thealliance

Thanks! You are right about marketing, I jut need to learn! :)

How nice, here it does not snow much either, but I can not imagine -20 degrees, too cold for my body.
happy Saturday

Thanks! I used to not be able to imagine it either, its an interesting sensation. When it gets to -20 it feels just as cold to me as -5 but on top of feeling cold it actually feels painful against your skin. Very weird!

I would not know how to live with this cold, I complain about mine, which at most only goes down to -2 and very occasionally, never two days in a row or a week with that temperature,

Its what you're used to i guess :) It took me a long time to get used to the cold here :)

Gorgeous shot of such a gorgeous city! That's some story you have to tell!

Thanks, i started writing and it just came out. I thought I may have been rambling after a while :)

No, you didn’t ramble! 😊

A very lovely photo of a favorite city! And what a nice story to go with it! We are experiencing a brutal winter here in NYC. Arghhhh and we don't have that Edinburgh charm!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65348.61
ETH 3557.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45