You can do a lot with a cheap camera, Nikon D5300

in #bescouted7 years ago

A few years ago I was in the process of moving from Canon to Nikon. I had purchased a few lenses but was still torn between a few different full frame camera bodies. As a stop gap I picked up a fairly cheap D5300 just so I could still shoot any jobs that came my way until I settled on a final setup.

To say I was surprised at how capable this camera was is a massive understatement. I had only planned to keep it for a few weeks and I ended up shooting with it for near 6 months. I did eventually sell it as I picked up a D750 and D810.

The dynamic range was amazing and easily comparable to the full frame Canon 5D mkII I had previously. The autofocus was quick and accurate with any lens. Admittedly the button layout controls were a bit more limited than I was used to (to be expected). All things considered this relatively entry level DSLR was capable of producing some very impressive results. Even more impressive is that this camera can be found used now for around 250 euro (300 dollars). Considering what this camera is capable of that's a serious bargain.

Here's a few images from a shoot I done around that time with a stunning model Kat, in Belfast.

It was all shot with the D5300 and a Tamron 24-70 2.8 VC.

03.jpg

02.jpg

01.jpg

04.jpg

Sort:  

Nowadays in some cases it seems like newer cheap models might outperform a bit dated high end models in pure image quality if ergonomics are not considered. Great times to be alive in regards of photography equipment :)

Yes absolutely. You almost can't go wrong with any modern camera, they're all pretty spectacular.

Yeah! Sometimes it's also nice to do comparison: if you setup lights and model etc. then make your work with proper camera but in the last minute take a few snaps using your phone :D Many times in web resolution the differences are somewhat small. (of course shallow depth of field is out of the question but otherwise)

Absolutely agree. Experimenting with the equipment is great fun too.

nice shots. I still use my old nikkon d300. the 50 mm lens is my favorite:)

I heard great things about the D300 but never actually used one.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #portraitphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Saturday.

You have earned 5.55 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.11
Server time: 15:18:44
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 99.30/100.00
Total Photos: 17
Total comments: 9
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Thanks guys!!

Great post Dave.
I'm surprised with the images that I can sometimes get on my S7E.. let alone an entry dslr.. it's all about the light and how smart you are with the post-processing.

Very true, probably the way it should be too. If all technology is equally high standard the focus is back on the photographer.

In my experience most important for successful photography is style (#1), post-production, lens and dynamic range, in that order ;)

Actually yep thats exactly the order I would chose too.

I have a D3300 and a Tamron lens, and have similar results. Here's a photo shoot I did with a friend 2 years ago:

https://steemit.com/cosplay/@ddrfr33k/feudal-style-sailor-mars-cosplay

Great job, it really is all about the photographer.

Thanks for the advice! I am actually looking for cameras right now, but D750 and D810 is pretty expensive. I'll look into D5300.

both the D750 and D810 are great camera's but I can definitely recommend the D5xxx series. I genuinely was surprised how well this camera performed.

i started with a D5000 back in the days and now im using a D7000 and i have to say that this cameras don't get enough credit for their actual power. In the hands of someone who actually knows how to use them of course but that applies to any gear

Yep fully agree. That D7000 is a fantastic camera.

the one thing that i miss compared to the newer models is the WIFI function

awesome work - thank you for sharing !

Happy to share, thanks for viewing!

And wite the bargain basement tamron lens to boot! Fantastic work as usual, and it really goes to show what you can do with affordable gear. Still, the day I went full frame I never looked back, hehe ;)

Yep for how much I was impressed with this camera, I do still love my full frame gear too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63744.49
ETH 2639.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77