Natural light photography isn't so bad - Who knew!!

in #bescouted6 years ago

I know a lot of photographers prefer natural light but I must admit I'm more of a strobist shooter. I usually prefer having more control over the light in the shot so mostly shoot with artificial off camera lighting.

It occurred to me a few years back that I was almost intimidated by natural light. The idea of trying to do a proper photoshoot without my lighting kit was actually pretty daunting. I figured the only way to address this was to force myself to shoot more with natural light.

The first few attempts were a bit hit and miss, and to be honest a bit frustrating as I felt like I was a beginner all over again. Eventually I started to better understand natural light and how to still get the look I wanted without relying on my own lighting.

Here's a sample from one of the natural light shoots I was happy with with.

03.jpg

I think I still prefer artificial lighting as it allows for a greater degree of control and typically a more stylised look, but I'm definitely more comfortable with natural light shoots now.

Do you guys have a preference for natural light or flash photography? Does shooting in either style intimidate you?

I'm curious to hear other photographers take on this.

Sort:  

That is a fantastic photo Dave! You nailed it. Great editing too.

I find I'm 50/50. Sometimes natural light is more convenient (no need to lug stuff around and set it up) and you can fire off more shots within a given amount of time. That being said, you're at the mercy of mother nature and what's around you - sometimes you gotta be resourceful. I like finding places where light is blocked off on certain sides like in a tunnel under brush. Sometimes it can be flat though on an overcast day or blown out on a sunny day.

Strobes are great for not caring about the weather or the time of day. And you can of course get the "studio" look. And freeze action (good for photos of moving subjects like pets or kids). I try to use strobes sometimes to simulate window light - so kinda a mix of the two.

I love how photography is sometimes about stepping outside your comfort zone! It's how we grow in the trade! Thanks for sharing your story with this too. I liked reading it.

I couldn't agree more! It's definitely good to push ourselves to shoot outside our comfort zone more often. I'll hopefully be doing it more with another little project I'm working on for later in the year. Glad you enjoyed reading the post.

Wise words!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #portraitphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Saturday.

You have earned 5.90 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.18
Server time: 19:34:47
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 202.86/400.00
Total Photos: 28
Total comments: 13
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 0.24 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Thanks guys!!

Liked the photos! Very! Beautiful!

Very much appreciated.

Cool shot! There's a world of difference between natural light indoor and outdoor of course. I find indoor easy enough, as the window is just a softbox. Outdoors it can be a pain though. Not generally a problem for me though as the natural rain usually means cancelling the natural light shoot anyway ;) Mind you, I've seen from your recent posts that you're using a lot of artificial rain too :P

Once I get up to scratch with this 3D stuff I can go artificial models and artificial camera too. I wont even need to get off the sofa. Thats the dream.

Class photo man. I find it difficult with the Irish weather to get decent natural lighting 100% of the time and thats why I prefer strobist stuff. Most of the time outdoors the light is flat.

Yep fully feel your pain there. I think cities probably make better locations for natural light as you get tall buildings to block and shape the light in places. Out in the wild it can be fairly flat light which is tricky.

Natural lighting has produced some of my best and my worst shots. It's very hit or miss, but when it works, it works great. My dad taught me quite a bit about lighting when I was younger, and I've since forgotten most of it. It's something I need to brush up, as well.

Yep theres so many variables with natural light shooting that are out of our control so it really can be hit or miss. I guess the more we do it the more we learn to deal with each issue as they come up.

Really stunning shot man. I usually shoot in natural light because that’s honestly what I have available, but I’ve been thinking of doing some more stylized shoots with off camera lighting lately. Have you see. @kommienezuspadt here on steemit? He shoots exclusively with available light and gets some incredible results.

I have indeed, hes fantastic. That dude really understands light. I'd recommend trying some off camera flash for the same reasons I tried more natural light. At the end of the day any extra techniques you can add can only be of benefit.

I like the negative space and the small highlight in her eyes! I think you did good without your usual gear!

Ah thanks, I can't say I love every shot from this shoot but this one came out pretty nice.

I'm completely with you, i shot 90% of my work with artificial lighting. I love having complete control. Natural light can be very intimidating at times and very limiting in my opinion.

Very true! I definitely prefer artificial light, although the more I shoot natural light the more impressed I am when I see people absolutely nailing natural light shots. Its definitely takes a lot of skill.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58169.95
ETH 3145.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38