A photoshoot at 4am in a fountain? Why??

in #bescouted7 years ago

There was a location I would often pass by and always thought it would great for a great photoshoot. It was a beautiful set of steps with with water flowing down into a pool at the end. Given the right lighting and angle I really believed this could look like a proper fairy tale location.

The catch was it was surrounded by offices, right in the middle of privately owned business park with a team of strict security guards. The security in this location would be all over you even if you even parked your car too long, so I can only imagine their reaction if I turned up for a photoshoot with no permit, a model, lights, makeup artist etc. Lets just say it wouldn't have gone down well.

I wasn't going to admit defeat so I planned to do the shoot around shooting at 4am just when the sun was starting to rise. I figured it would be a great time to get that beautiful warm sunrise light, and most important.... no security guards.

I found a stunning model called Lucy, a great makeup artist named Lorna and we set about making a plan. Obviously I wanted to make sure they knew what they were letting themselves in for, so really stressed how early we would need to shoot, how cold it would be in the water, the possibility of getting arrested for trespassing etc. They were totally cool with it though. Sometimes the adventure of these things is enough to get excited about.

Its rare that I say this but the shoot went exactly as we planned. The location worked out great, nobody got arrested (bonus) and I couldn't be happier with how the shots came out.

Ok enough blabbering from me, here some of my favourites from the shoot.

All shot with my Nikon D810 and the Tamron 24-70 VC f2.8

Click to enlarge

03.jpg

Click to enlarge

01.jpg

Click to enlarge

02.jpg

Just to give you a laugh. Here's what the location looks like on Google maps.

Sort:  

Pretty cool transformation of the area! The world is a studio ;) Nicely done to the whole team.

The world is a studio..... man I'm so stealing that line.

That girl deserves her own statue at this fountain, @davekavanagh :)

I can see why you were so worried! That's a great spot for a shoot, though. Nicely done!

Yeah it was a bit of gamble but it worked out well.

Is the building to the right residential? Perhaps an early riser was rewarded with the photoshoot while getting ready for their day. Either way, I appreciate the effort and risk (including the model splashing cold water all over, on top if sitting in it!) that was invested in this image. Thanks!

It is indeed, its an apartment block. Haha very possible we gave them an interesting view alright.

One of my goals this year is to learn how to take these quality of portrait photos. My goal list is rather long, we'll see how it goes

Haha very kind of you. Although I just seen some pretty amazing food photography on your page too so I think you're doing pretty great as it is. Those taco's by the way, they look amazing!!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #portraitphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Saturday.

You have earned 5.75 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 1/5
Multiplier: 1.15
Server time: 20:38:18
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 137.35/200.00
Total Photos: 23
Total comments: 13
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.26 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

This post has received gratitude of 0.53 % from @appreciator thanks to: @davekavanagh.

Much appreciated

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

very beautiful shot you got there. I love how beautiful the women is ;)

Aww thank you

It reminds me all that crazy ideas I've done like shots in
the puddle etc. sometimes the worst location for shoot with a little bit skills can be turned to something nice.

Oh yep totally. I always figure if its easy and effortless, wheres the fun in that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62952.72
ETH 2429.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56