Sort:  

There is one trick with lighting, but it doesn't touch the subject ;-)
Take a bare flash and point it to the background. Then put something in the front of this light to get some random shadows or ... damn, I have no idea what is English word for what happens when you let the light through the glass or bottle. I used flowers, chairs, toys, anything that seems it may work ;-)
Last example is this (not exactly a portrait ;P ), behind a toy you see solid black background lit through spathiphyllum
IMG_8879-Edit_HR.jpg

I read an article about that technique a while back. I had forgotten it. I think in the article that I had read, the guy was taking pictures of a restaurant, and he put a flash inside one of the potted plants in the restaurant so the foliage would throw cool shadows on the wall of the restaurant. Is that the sort of thing you're talking about?

Exactly :-)

she looks friendly... but i think if you use a little softer light: het skin gets better.

thank you for the tip. I'm doing more portraits in a few hours, and the model was asking me what I could do to make her skin look better. I will pay more attention to how soft the light is. One problem is that if I move the umbrella too close to make the light extra soft, then I don't get any shadows and I was trying to control those. I just have more experimenting that I need to do, I guess.

Another trick is to put the light as close to camera axis as possible. Clamshell lighting works pretty nice here.
But this reduces shadows too, and you lose definition of the face shape.

For me it is much easier to fix the skin in postproduction than to recover missing shadows ;-)

I know what you mean about recovering missing shadows. I honestly do not care much for doing these portrait type shots. I am doing them basically to sharpen my lighting skills for practice so when I do take pix that are important to me, I can make them as good as possible. I'm really into a lot of conceptual stuff. See Jo Ann Callis or Alva Bernadine for photographers that I really like.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #portraitphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Saturday.

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 08:28:12
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 87.47/100.00
Total Photos: 7
Total comments: 10
Total contest wins: 1
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Hi! I like your content. If you want to get free resteem and upvotes to grow faster on steemit, please follow me!
https://steemit.com/steemit/@bidseption/follow-and-get-upvote-and-resteem

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29