Portrait of T. - #portraitcontest entry

in #bescouted6 years ago (edited)

bescouted_photo.jpg

This beautiful mother of one came to me looking to have something of an empowerment photo session. She's not a model, but 4 years after becoming a very young mom, she wanted some nice photos of herself.

As the great Sue Bryce likes to say : "exist in photographs!"

When T showed me the types of photos she wanted, I was SO excited! Classic lighting, black & white, lots of skin but classy, not sexy.

For these I used a very simple lighting style. Two square softboxes stacked (as there were some full body shots as well) camera left at about a 45 degree angle, slightly above her eye level. Clean, simple, striking. We both loved the results.

When I saw that the Portrait Contest this week would be B&W portaits, I knew I wanted to hunt down these shots and use one. I had mixed feelings going through them as this was the very last shoot that I did in my beloved studio in Kelowna before I packed up and moved to Victoria, quitting professional photography. Seems like a good note to quit on, eh?


Categoryportraitphotography
SettingsISO 100 70 mm f/2.8 1/150
CameraCanon 5D mIII
LensCanon EF 24-70 f/2.8L v.1
LocationKelowna, Canada

Do you have photography questions? Ask me! I'm collecting questions for post topics!

Don't forget to upvote, comment, and resteem!

ALL content is MY OWN and subject to copyright. Reproduction & distribution is forbidden without my written consent. www.caitlynchapman.com

Peace & Love!

caitycat.jpg

bescouted.gif

Sort:  

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #portraitphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Saturday.

You have earned 6.15 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.23
Server time: 08:04:00
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 437.39/800.00
Total Photos: 25
Total comments: 71
Total contest wins: 6
And have also received a 1.50 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Greetings Caitlyn is an excellent photo...!

Thank you very much!!

Beautiful shot! That lighting is so smooth and gentle. I need you to teach me a class on flash lighting haha!

Why did you decide to leave professional photography?

Thanks, man!! I would be happy to! 🙂 Lighting is so much fun!
Ah, well we moved here to Vic for @mstafford's dream job. I had to shut the studio for that, and never really started up again. I think that I'm just not an entrepreneur. I love to shoot but I found that shooting as a job made me hate it. That sucked!
I'm much happier shooting just for me now 😁

I sometimes am able to get nice lighting with flash, but not with any consistency, and it feels so random when it turns out well haha.

Ah, gotcha, that makes a lot of sense! Glad you're finding enjoyment in it again!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.22
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 65476.67
ETH 3385.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.18