Behind the Photo Contest — Edition #6

in #behindthephoto5 years ago (edited)

apt0ui.jpg


We were in Peru, on a family trip by the beach, and I heard my mother-in-law was going to get up (really) early the following morning, to catch pink flamingos on the beach.

Over the years, I’ve taken many pictures of birds, in different parts of the world. But, we were on vacation, I was feeling lazy and ended up sleeping in...

When I eventually did show up, nearly noon, I did not expect this surreal vision.

I took out my iPhone (6, I believe) and tip-toed towards the pink flamingos, flocking at the beach in Paracas, Peru.

I gasped at my good fortune to see these dream creatures surrounded by seagulls, resting on wooden posts.

ivkfze.jpg


There was nearly a dozen of these fantastic pink works of living art, doing a funny shuffle in the water with their slender legs as they bobbed their heads in and out of the water.

So long as I did not move too fast, they let me get close enough to take these pictures.


iv0cqb.jpg


I was grateful to spend some time with them in their element and I’m sure I took countless photos. But, this was the one I was after, not just for symmetry, the reflections of the water, but because it captured something of the richness of the scene...


i71bdj.jpg


To honor this marvelous occasion, below, is a poem I wrote in praise of the beach, winged things and the near mystical experience of communing with nature:

Oceanside Epiphany

Stepping outside, it’s not precisely sun we’re after
or the illusion of perfect stillness, but something else
that has to do with the distant riot of children at play
staccato squeals accompanied by the cries of gulls

Or the gentler song of slighter, winged creatures
circling above, frolicking, or pecking at the earth
while the patter of water offers its liquid paean,
and winds tease trees till they shudder with pleasure

This is the quiet pageant we longed to be part of
setting aside our book or papers to vaguely register
ourselves, easing into the pattern, our breath deepening
and our heart slow beating in unison with other things.

—Yahia Lababidi


114aoq.jpg


bs3m38.jpg
To enter this contest, please, read the rules, here

With much appreciation to @appreciator for sponsoring this contest

& to the jury: @nelyp and @johan.norberg

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Much appreciated.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work!
Dear reader, Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.me/esteem

Thank you, for your support.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63907.47
ETH 2753.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66