You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Behind the Curtain with the Renegades

Thanks for doing the challenge!! I can't believe it's only been a month! It feels like forever ago!

I'm so happy you guys are liking your new living situation...too bad they had to come home and take back the office and massage chair...parents! 😂 And Aimee, I love your haircut!

Sort:  

Only a month? I find it interesting how the perception of time can feel so different to different people just by what's happening in their lives. When I finally sat down to write this post and I checked the date on your post I was in shock! I could hardly believe so much time had passed by. I know, taking back the massage chair? The nerve of it! 🤣 Thanks! I am enjoying this hair cut too! I was tired of the messy mom hair. It was long, grab-worthy, and never done! Apparently, doing a cute messy bun actually takes skill that I don't possess. So I just chopped it all off. - Aimee

I don't know how you didn't utterly lose your mind in a tiny house with twins. I just about lost mine (I'm shuddering at the memory of twin infancy) even though I had the space to walk miles around the living room with fussy babies in the wee hours!

I didn't realize you were a twin mama! Or if I did know that, my fried mom-brain temporarily forgot. I love connecting with other twin mamas.

There were many reasons why we left the tiny house and going a little insane with twins in a tiny space was one of them. I felt like I was constantly rearranging our space throughout the day. The main area was living room/dining room/baby bedroom. I was pulling their highchairs in and out of the loft and three times a day! 😬 Then when we wanted to work or relax in the evening we were tiptoeing around. Doing dishes or laundry with awake babies is hard, and I couldn't do it with them sleeping either because the water pump was so loud. I did a lot while they were sleeping but the pump would eventually disturb them enough.

I shudder at twin infancy and I am still in it! I always wanted 3 or 4 kids but I am on the fence now because the thought of having a second set of twins terrifies me.

How old are your twins now? Are they identical or fraternal? Boys, girls, both? I am so curious! -Aimee

The fried brain thing doesn't go away, I'm a living testimony to that :))) You're not the first twin mom I've seen say they might change their mind about more kids because they're terrified of a second set of twins, lol. Frankly, I didn't enjoy the infant stage one bit (well, ok, maybe a little but nowhere near enough to voluntarily do it again) till they got to the walking/talking age! Mine are boy/girl and they're 4 years old now. How old are yours and are they identical or fraternal?

I love toddler and preschool age twins though, it's the best. The Husband and I feel like it's the kid-raising equivalent of retirement...we put in all the blood sweat and tears up front keeping them alive as babies and now we can kind of kick back and enjoy them. It definitely does get better!

This is why I love connecting with twins mom's. I feel such relief knowing I am not alone in the craziness. I like hearing there is a light at the end of the tunnel, or retirement. That really cracked me up! Four years old sounds like a fun age. We also have boy/girl! Do you fine yours are close? Ours are just starting to really interact with each other but they are total opposites. Our son is more cautious and analytical and our daughter just dives into everything head first. Her first attempt at stairs she climbed a huge staircase, while I son cautiously tried two steps and then decided Nope, not for me just yet. -Aimee

Ours are extremely close, though Pixie has always been much more dominant, and recently I'm starting to observe more squabbles since Little Man has figured out how to push her buttons, which he thinks is hilarious. It's kind of the same dynamic my younger sister and I had growing up; I was more bossy and she'd do something to set me off and then sit back and giggle deviously. My mom literally has it on cassette tape :-)))

They are POLAR OPPOSITES too. They don't look at all alike and don't act it either, so you'd never think they were even siblings, let alone twins. Pixie is 100% practical and Little Man is 100% imaginative, to oversimplify it :)

How interesting! I hope ours end up being close too. They are so opposite. Even at meal times; baby girl will give you her opinion on everything (Nom, nom, nom!), while baby boy will take his spoon, eat, set it down, then look at you silently with his arms stretched out while he waits for more. But they show signs of concern if the other is crying and comfort one another. I think they will balance each other well. One will encourage a sense of adventure and the other will be the level head.

I love that your mom managed to catch your shenanigans on cassette! That must be fun to look back on. -Aimee

It's really funny because I know two moms with sets of fraternal boy twins that still look nearly identical and are difficult to tell apart personality-wise too. I also have a friend with boy/girl siblings that look exactly like each other. And then here I am with the kids that people will ask their ages, and when I answer "they're 4" the people are completely surprised: "Oh?! They're twins? Oh wow!" The upside is not getting the annoying twin-related commentary and questions right and left ;-)

Ha! So interesting how siblings can turn out so similar or so different. As hard as twins are, I feel blessed to be part of this special community. A lot of people think our twins look so similar but, to me, they look so different. Because of their size though, my most people guess twins right away. They are 9 months old - I think you asked that earlier and I forgot to answer. At first, being asked about twins was fun but the novelty has worn off. Especially when I am in a hurry and am being peppered with questions. >D I am so glad we connected! -Aimee

Me too :) 9 months is when I hazily recall ours were scooting and crawling around because they ruined pretty much all their onesies with scuffed in dirt...the Husband called them our baby Swiffers. Another reason not to have 2 of them in a tiny house for sure! I can't imagine being able to walk anywhere at all without tripping over a little body :)))

Hahaha you could have done just a messy bun! Wait...that was my everyday before I decided to dread mine! 😂 Yeah...it's hard to keep up with hairstyles and put time into it!

Well, I'm so glad, that even after ao many life changes happen for you that you remembered the challenge!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60856.28
ETH 2937.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44