You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Behind the Curtain with the Renegades

Ha! So interesting how siblings can turn out so similar or so different. As hard as twins are, I feel blessed to be part of this special community. A lot of people think our twins look so similar but, to me, they look so different. Because of their size though, my most people guess twins right away. They are 9 months old - I think you asked that earlier and I forgot to answer. At first, being asked about twins was fun but the novelty has worn off. Especially when I am in a hurry and am being peppered with questions. >D I am so glad we connected! -Aimee

Sort:  

Me too :) 9 months is when I hazily recall ours were scooting and crawling around because they ruined pretty much all their onesies with scuffed in dirt...the Husband called them our baby Swiffers. Another reason not to have 2 of them in a tiny house for sure! I can't imagine being able to walk anywhere at all without tripping over a little body :)))

Ah yes! Baby swiffers indeed! And while they're down there, they always manage to find the little things you've dropped that they really shouldn't put in their mouths. Or dog food. My girl definitely recognizes tone because if I say her name in a tone that means stop right there just just picks up speed towards her destination instead. And yet, I never learn.

Random question: who was baby A? Pixie or little man? -Aimee

Pixie was baby A, and she was sunny side up...that should've been a sign! Was your girl baby A too?

Get outta here! Not only was our little girl baby A, she was also sunny side up. She was stuck in a really bad position and I took an hour to push her out. I am saving our birth story for a blog post. So much happened, I think it will be several parts long. -Aimee

Oh yes I can relate. Pixie was flat out stuck and my midwife ended up taking some better-left-unmentioned measures to budge her. Back labor is hell on earth unlike anything else!! I seriously didn't notice pain anywhere else in my body, because my back hurt so bad.

I am so envious of the twin moms who managed to keep their midwives. Mine had to pass me off to an OB because we found out so early in the pregnancy and my dream of having a home water birth abruptly came to an end. My OB also had to take measures into his own hands to get her unstuck. Did you ever wrote about your birth story? -Aimee

No, not the whole thing, just bits and pieces on the Babycenter forums. I lucked out in that around here one of the local OB's is an advocate for midwifery at the state level, and so the practice was ok with working in tandem with her as far as checkups and such went. I also lucked out in having a completely uncomplicated pregnancy. However they flat out told me they wouldn't support a home birth, they preferred a scenario where my midwife functioned as a doula in the hospital. I simply flouted their "advice" and stayed home because hospital regs dictated that I'd have to push in the OR no matter what and that if I labored past 18 hours I was going for a C-section regardless of how well things were going. I hate hospitals anyway and knowing I'd have a ticking clock over my head set me against it. So Pixie was somewhat dramatically birthed at home, but then my body decided it was done and we ended up having to go to the hospital to evict Little Man. It was awful, no privacy or control at all and plunged me into PPD.

I'm sorry you didn't get the home water birth you wanted. It frustrates me so much when people say "well a healthy baby is all that matters, get over it" because we mommas matter too!

You are like my twin mom bff!! You should totally write your birth story one day. I, for one, would love to read it.

You are so brave to have decided to stay home. I am in awe! I was not brave enough, even though I despise hospitals and how they treat birth and delivery. This conversation is lighting a fire under my butt to get that birth story written! I have so much to share with you. Whether you want it or not. Ha!

If we had discovered twins later on, I could have kept my midwives in conjunction with an OB but because we discovered them early they had to refer me. Once upon a time midwives and OBs could work together but the way health care is set up here they are both considered a primary care provider so using both is considered "double billing" the system. Thankfully, my midwives referred me to a midwife friendly OB. He wasn't on call that day but the guy I ended up with was pretty relaxed and didn't push anything on me I didn't want. But that wasn't the case for all the health care workers we came across.

I also hate when people expect you to just get over when your birth doesn't go as planned too. Its not like having a meal delivered to you wrong, it's a sacred experience and should be treated as such. I also experienced some pretty intense PPD but am glad to report the fog is finally lifting. -Aimee

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60856.28
ETH 2937.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44