You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Behind the Curtain with the Renegades

This is why I love connecting with twins mom's. I feel such relief knowing I am not alone in the craziness. I like hearing there is a light at the end of the tunnel, or retirement. That really cracked me up! Four years old sounds like a fun age. We also have boy/girl! Do you fine yours are close? Ours are just starting to really interact with each other but they are total opposites. Our son is more cautious and analytical and our daughter just dives into everything head first. Her first attempt at stairs she climbed a huge staircase, while I son cautiously tried two steps and then decided Nope, not for me just yet. -Aimee

Sort:  

Ours are extremely close, though Pixie has always been much more dominant, and recently I'm starting to observe more squabbles since Little Man has figured out how to push her buttons, which he thinks is hilarious. It's kind of the same dynamic my younger sister and I had growing up; I was more bossy and she'd do something to set me off and then sit back and giggle deviously. My mom literally has it on cassette tape :-)))

They are POLAR OPPOSITES too. They don't look at all alike and don't act it either, so you'd never think they were even siblings, let alone twins. Pixie is 100% practical and Little Man is 100% imaginative, to oversimplify it :)

How interesting! I hope ours end up being close too. They are so opposite. Even at meal times; baby girl will give you her opinion on everything (Nom, nom, nom!), while baby boy will take his spoon, eat, set it down, then look at you silently with his arms stretched out while he waits for more. But they show signs of concern if the other is crying and comfort one another. I think they will balance each other well. One will encourage a sense of adventure and the other will be the level head.

I love that your mom managed to catch your shenanigans on cassette! That must be fun to look back on. -Aimee

It's really funny because I know two moms with sets of fraternal boy twins that still look nearly identical and are difficult to tell apart personality-wise too. I also have a friend with boy/girl siblings that look exactly like each other. And then here I am with the kids that people will ask their ages, and when I answer "they're 4" the people are completely surprised: "Oh?! They're twins? Oh wow!" The upside is not getting the annoying twin-related commentary and questions right and left ;-)

Ha! So interesting how siblings can turn out so similar or so different. As hard as twins are, I feel blessed to be part of this special community. A lot of people think our twins look so similar but, to me, they look so different. Because of their size though, my most people guess twins right away. They are 9 months old - I think you asked that earlier and I forgot to answer. At first, being asked about twins was fun but the novelty has worn off. Especially when I am in a hurry and am being peppered with questions. >D I am so glad we connected! -Aimee

Me too :) 9 months is when I hazily recall ours were scooting and crawling around because they ruined pretty much all their onesies with scuffed in dirt...the Husband called them our baby Swiffers. Another reason not to have 2 of them in a tiny house for sure! I can't imagine being able to walk anywhere at all without tripping over a little body :)))

Ah yes! Baby swiffers indeed! And while they're down there, they always manage to find the little things you've dropped that they really shouldn't put in their mouths. Or dog food. My girl definitely recognizes tone because if I say her name in a tone that means stop right there just just picks up speed towards her destination instead. And yet, I never learn.

Random question: who was baby A? Pixie or little man? -Aimee

Pixie was baby A, and she was sunny side up...that should've been a sign! Was your girl baby A too?

Get outta here! Not only was our little girl baby A, she was also sunny side up. She was stuck in a really bad position and I took an hour to push her out. I am saving our birth story for a blog post. So much happened, I think it will be several parts long. -Aimee

Oh yes I can relate. Pixie was flat out stuck and my midwife ended up taking some better-left-unmentioned measures to budge her. Back labor is hell on earth unlike anything else!! I seriously didn't notice pain anywhere else in my body, because my back hurt so bad.

I am so envious of the twin moms who managed to keep their midwives. Mine had to pass me off to an OB because we found out so early in the pregnancy and my dream of having a home water birth abruptly came to an end. My OB also had to take measures into his own hands to get her unstuck. Did you ever wrote about your birth story? -Aimee

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 60239.77
ETH 2896.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45