Learning about Steemit and Cryptocurrencies with no Computer Science background.

in #beginner8 years ago

Hello Steemit community!

So I am relatively new (2 years) to the cryptocurrency world and have found the community to be both inclusive and fascinating. Over the last couple of years I have been following everything from the collapse of Mt. Gox, to the recent hacks at DAO and Steem and all of the turbulence in between. My problem is, and I hope that I am not the only one who has this issue, is that my computer science knowledge is extremely limited.

In essence, I constantly find myself advocating for Bitcoin, Ethereum, Steemit et al. However, when explaining the concepts to friends and family, my technical knowledge is extremely limited. Also, my ability to provide value to this community, aside from some small investments, is relatively limited because I lack the requisite computer science knowledge to properly contribute. Does anyone have any recommendations for where I can find a tailor-made computer science course, either online or in person, for someone interested in learning more about the computer science that goes into the different projects?

All of the conversations on Reddit, and even within the blogosphere, seem to require a basic level of computer science, but I don't know where to find one without learning everything else that may be unnecessary along the way. When I see people distinguishing between POS (proof of stake) and POW (proof of work), it would be amazing if I actually understood what that meant, as opposed to convincing myself that I know enough to get by!

The community, especially on Twitter, has been incredibly patient, but I think it is time that I learn more to carry my weight in substantive conversations. If there are enough of us looking for such courses maybe there is someone here that is looking to teach?

Thanks so much, and I look forward to further interaction!

Sort:  

Good to have you here!

Here are some tips if you're not aware of already:

Secure your account: https://steemit.com/steemit-guides/@pfunk/your-steem-account-is-worth-money-how-to-secure-it-with-a-new-owner-key-to-keep-it-yours-forever
Verify your account and build your reputation: https://steemit.com/steem/@tuck-fheman/verified-accounts--reputation-system
Contribute with your own contents: https://steemit.com/steem/@grittenald/copy-paste-steal-cite-your-sources, and https://steemit.com/steemit/@pfunk/lets-discuss-verification-of-user-accounts-posting-previous-work-to-prevent-impersonation
Properly tagging your posts, especially when your content is #NSFW or for #test only
Know how Steemit works: https://steemit.com/steemit/@donkeypong/still-confused-by-steem-steem-dollars-and-steem-power-the-power-plant-analogy

Thanks so much anirban! The last post is particularly interesting, with fantastic creativity! I am looking for something a little more technical though, as in computer science based rather than putting the concept in layman's terms. Almost like a class. Any ideas?

Congratulations @ajw82490! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @ajw82490! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67443.33
ETH 3253.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66