Zeke's Sweet Hops - New Brews and Date Night!

zekes-hops.jpg

text16.png

I like my beer. This much is obvious to my legions of followers.

I have been very caught up in sports, work, family, music and big out of town weekends the last while but have not relaxed on my discovery of great beer. That being the case, it was my buddy @cryptictruth's beer post today https://steemit.com/beersaturday/@cryptictruth/pretentious-by-odd-side-ales-nem6saok that reminded me it has been 3 full weeks since the last hops post! A sour brown ale? Man you find the neatest stuff. I just need granite counters like you for proper pictures.

text16.png

Today's edition of Zeke's Sweet Hops has a theme of new beers mixed with Date Night.

IMG_5916.jpg

The kids are out at girlguides and friend's houses so we are catching up on Walking Dead and having a beer. On the left if my better half's favourite beer which is brewed right down the road at https://cowbellbrewing.com/ It is a nice farmhouse saison that has that typical mild and creamy taste and she really likes it despite being partial to "beer flavoured beer."
On the right is a special beer I don't get so often. Yuzu IPA is a very tasty beer and incredibly clear for an IPA and is brewed by a brewery 1/4 owned by a friend I play hockey and music with. https://www.radicalroadbrew.com/ He explains the beer as having a very unique japanese fruit called Yuzu which is a mix between a lemon and an orange. Makes for a very tasty beer and I love the design which really represents the uniqueness and boldness of this great brew.

text16.png

IMG_5915.jpg

This is a shot from last night when it was time to head out for a little adventure with my littlest one. We went to the pizzeria to buy a wheel whose proceeds were being donated directly to a little girl for her Lukemia treatment. The place was packed so we spent the 45 minutes waiting for the grease wheel visiting the pub!

She went with her standard Shirley Temple and I opted for a Redline Rainbow in the Dark Winter Rye IPA http://www.redlinebrewhouse.com/the-beers/rainbow-in-the-dark/ I like Rye IPAs, Redline brewery and I love Ronnie James Dio so this was set to be an awesome pint! Very delicious and a nice little diversion in the middle of a busy evening.

text16.png

IMG_5914.jpg

This wasn't date night but drankin time with my brother who lives by and enjoys Henderson Brewing Company in Toronto https://hendersonbrewing.com/ We generally grab the UPA (which deserves a post of its own) and were pleased to find the One Louder Double IPA! I like labels you can read without turning the can much so I peeled the label out so you could enjoy the old fender amp look with the awesomely Spinal Tap style indicators on it. I am not sure what Pillow and Esther mean but I suppose you have to allow the brewers to have their little private jokes.

It really did taste like an 11 on the scale but wasn't the hoppiest I have ever had and only tasted slightly stronger than the normal strong IPA. Would drink again and I will by more before it is gone again if I can find it.

text16.png

https://steemit.com/contest/@detlev/jooooo-week-98-of-the-beersaturday-challenge-beer-and-beer-token-ahoi PLease consider following my drinkin' buddy @detlev and jumping on the #beersaturday bandwagon with a post of your own. He has even pioneered the Beer Token on STEEM so that we can easily buy each other a beer despite the miles that separate us.

text16.png

zekepickleman.jpg

Sort:  

Always interesting to try out new beers.

It seems we are blessed with new beers during this craft beer boom. What a time to be alive and have beer adventures.

Posted using Partiko iOS

It seems we are blessed with new beers during this craft beer boom. What a time to be alive and have beer adventures.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I love myself some Yuzu in beer, the tartness of the fruit really works well.

Yah? Have you had this one before or is there one brewed in your area? I had never even heard of Yuzu before this beer!

Posted using Partiko iOS

No not that one but about 6 months ago there were Yuzu flavoured beers everywhere in this part of the world.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sure does look good!

I do know how to choose some great beer. It is extra special when you get to enjoy a new taste as well as support another friend who runs a microbrewery.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Love discovering new breweries, but I am with your better half. I love when I find one of those fruity beers or even that unusual one, like one I found in PA . A peanut butter brew...Delish !

It is amazing how some of the stronger tasting craft beers do with some strange flavours like peanut butter. Kinda like the Butter Tart beer I tried. Expecting to hate the maple sugar overload, I actually really enjoyed it.

Discovery and adventure for your taste buds and liver.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Those look like proper and good beers.
Actually, I bought a few local non-generic brews myself, good pop bottles soon myself. Happy Friday!

It is almost beer o’clock! I grabbed a few for the weekend as well and am going to hold off valiantly til after 5.

Have a good weekend and lemme know what you discover. Make a #beersaturday post maybe.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Haha i even managed to wait for my commute to be home. Sometimes I just drop by a pub near work if I can meet up with someone who is definitely jot a coworker. Beer Saturday will happen just gonna wait another hour or so for UTC Saturday.

Posted using Partiko Android

All your great photos are making me thirsty! Awesome review! Cheers!

Sharing them here has changed my buying habits. I generally steer clear from the old favourites now if I can get a new one to try and review.

Steem and beer both have double e as well. Not sure why that is relevant but I love em both.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by (LoD)Zeke from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62227.11
ETH 2400.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50