Pretentious by Odd Side Ales

in #beersaturday5 years ago

I picked up Pretentious last time I was at the brewery and I’m glad I did. This one is a complex and multi-layered American sour brown ale.

671583CB-27DD-45A5-8F07-B5EE4AB31EFC.jpeg

This beer begins with interesting aromas of sweet wood and cocoa. You get a slight sour funk, but it is not overpowering.

9FF2A636-D650-4A59-8E6A-565A03E26216.jpeg

With such an complex and rich aroma I knew the flavor would be the same. This beer is rich with malt, hints of caramelized fruits and slightly sour. It finishes very clean and tart that puckers you lips.

8597FDC6-DF6A-4A94-8D3B-5E14D13FAA16.jpeg

The appearance is dark with a fluffy medium tan head. The head left a fair amount of lacing as you sipped the beer.

9EDDB880-3EA2-4456-80BC-6A40159C9233.jpeg

This beer was lighter than I expected. It’s a cross between a brown and sour so you
get the best of both worlds. I highly recommend checking it out.

Cheers,
Cryptictruth

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

A Sour Brown?!? I can't say I have ever found one of those yet!

Either the sour or the malt must be a little mild or I could not even imagine what it would taste like.

Dammit man we have to have a beer exchange program. We are only a couple hours highway apart.

I’m a fan of trading beer, but I’ve never done it internationally.

This one is balanced. You definitely get some malt and the sour. I really have a hard time imaging that it works, but it does.

I have been a pretty big fan of all the Odd Side ales I have tried. The chocolate mint one was very interesting.

Posted using Partiko Android

The chocolate mint is delicious. Use it to make a beer float you won’t regret it!

Interesting beer, it would be a good departure from the fruit based sours that are everywhere.

My thoughts exactly. I’m kinda sick of all the fruity beer already.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations @cryptictruth! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 1750 replies. Your next target is to reach 2000 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63701.36
ETH 3076.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81