Zeke's Sweet Hops - Brut IPAs!

zekes-hops.jpg

I hadn't really heard about Brut IPAs until I was at Great Lakes Brewery and had my brother recommend one. "Like a really dry IPA which is kinda neat and different" was how he described it which was endorsement enough for me. https://beerandbrewing.com/the-birth-of-the-brut-ipa/ is a good read as they were started in San Fran, use some enzyme often used in stouts, and seem to be the latest craze in a progressive game of sport hopping and exploration.

text16.png

IMG_5258.jpg

Brutalism IPA was my introduction to the latest trend was my introduction to Brut from Great Lakes Brewery http://www.greatlakesbeer.com/ you may remember from past hops articles.

IMG_5259.jpg

The can pretty much says it all with the elimination of the residual sugar and lays it on thick with the drama that has nothing to do with the beer, but will grab the attention of gothic hipsters. It really was good too! It didn't have the overloaded hops I enjoy but I did not seem to miss it for all the taste. It was bold and strong enough and nicely different. The 6 cans I got from the limited run at the brewery went rather quick though I saved the last one for a while to taste it later.

text16.png

IMG_5634.jpg

Whitewater Brewing Company http://whitewaterbeer.ca/ even won back a little cred with me as I was unimpressed with their other beers but enjoyed their Brut.

IMG_5635.jpg

Less drama and branding than the Great Lakes one but a bold statement about the power of the beer comparing it to the mighty Ottawa River. I do like the paddler illustration and would buy this again if I see it.

text16.png

IMG_5722.jpg

Enter Collective Arts Brewing https://collectiveartsbrewing.com/ as one of my favourite breweries and most popular among my hops followers for their support of the arts and the unique designs on their packaging. I will have to do a post with all of the IPAs I have had from them since IPA No. 1 all the way to No. 9 here which is their Brut. !

IMG_5721.jpg

The art on the can label is a rather powerful looking bear apparently abducting a fridge which you would presume had some IPA No.0 in it. Nice dark bubbles and stars kinda match the taste as I enjoy this Brut too. Nice and dry but more pronounced hops they confidently like to feature right in the title of the beer.

text16.png

So, I would not abandon my big bold sweet hoppy fruity IPAs to venture solely down the path of Brut IPAs. It is definitely a nice change without getting away from bold taste and brings me back to the dry Pilsner we used to brew and overhop back in the day. Keep an eye out for a Brut in your store and tell me what you think!

text16.png

Have you seen/tasted any Brut IPA yet? Thoughts?

text16.png

zekepicklemanbeerologist.jpg

If you enjoyed this, or like to blog about beer, please consider following @detlev and his legion of beer lovers on STEEM. https://steemit.com/contest/@detlev/beer-even-more-beer-join-the-week-95-of-the-steem-beersaturday-challenge-to-win Beer Token is ALIVE!

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Sort:  

Wow, three beers in one review and all of them with such a cool design.

Here comes a virtual !BEER for you. This is for the fun and if the value will grow, you might get soon some real beer for this token

Haha awesome thanks!

There are a bunch of neat designs which really colours up a beer post.

As a beerologist, I gladly accept your beer token and thank you for being such a great proponent of the scrumptious suds here on steem!

Stay thirsty my friend.

Posted using Partiko iOS

To view or trade BEER go to steem-engine.com.

Here is your BEER token!

Interesting, makes me started Googling about these...

I had never heard of them til my brother recommended them. Seems to be the rage if 3 unrelated breweries suddenly have them.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks to him, now I heard it from you! lol

Those beers have such near designs. I like the maze on and the bear one. I bet the taste great too. I remember a beer called lakeport or something it was less than a buck a beer. I guess great lakes brewery is different.

Posted using Partiko Android

I think you are talking about lake port. It was an ultra shitty beer company and canning facility in Hamilton. They went away mercifully. That canning facility seems to be primarily operated now buy a partnership between Collective Arts and Nicklebrook.....2 of my top 5 favourite breweries.

So from the demise of crap, greatness can arise!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I love one with the bear!)))

Haha yah the collective arts ones are generally pretty interesting and entertaining. It is a good thing they are as tasty too.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by (LoD)Zeke from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66654.57
ETH 3250.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.33