My BeerSaturday Entry & My Weekly PhotoBlog!

I didn't post this over the weekend, was planning on posting it on Monday, then decided, hey, it's beer related why not wait till Wednesday, and enter it into this weeks #BeerSaturday. So here it is, my weekly #PhotoBlog / #BeerSaturday culturejam.

I didn't really have a chance to get out much on my motorcycle last week. That's pretty much when I take the photos for my weekly photoblog. Friday night however, I decided to take a 150 mile round trip ride to the city of Rochester.

I rode out the Genesee Brewery in Rochester NY. I visited the Brew House which is a small craft beer brewery next to their main brewery. The Brew House features a restaurant, gift shop, and each month a special craft beer only available at the Brew House.

Now I've posted about Genesee beer in previous BeerSaturday posts. Genesee Cream Ale happens to be one of my father's favorite beers. It just so happened that this months special at the Brew House was a craft version of Cream Ale in 3 different flavors, Imperial Cream Ale, Orange Honey Cream Ale, and Dry Hopped Mosaic Cream Ale. It also just happened to be Father's Day weekend so I drove out to the Genesee Brewery Brew House and scored my fahter a 12 of craft beer version of his favorite brew!


Not my image, I forgot to take photos of the beer :( I had a Dood moment. Borrowed this one from the Genesee Twitter feed which is what gave me the idea for dad's gift. All other photos here are mine unless otherwise noted.

I headed out from Buffalo after dinner and took country backroads to the city of Rochester. I arrived at the edge of the city by dusk. There were so many great photo opportunities along the way, but I really didn't stop to take many photos because I wanted to arrive in the city before dark. I just made it!

I pulled up in front of the Brewery just before dark. Taking country backroads, the journey there was about 2.5 hours on the motorcycle straight driving without breaks. I was happy to arrive at my destination.

The Genesee Brew House is a cute little tourist trap. I wish I would of taken some pictures of the inside. It has a rustic charm, and all kinds of history with a country store like atmosphere on the first floor. In the back you can find a micro-brewery. On the top floor there's a resaurant. I really didn't spend a lot of time there because it was already after 9pm and I knew I had another 2.5 hour ride home. So I walked around a bit, snapped a couple pictures, bought my father's 12 pack gift, strapped it down on the bike, then wanting to let the bike cool down a bit I took a short walk arond the outside of the Brew House and took a few pictures of the City.


What a bonehead! Here's an image of the beers all wrapped up in my tail bag and strapped down on the bike. I can't believe I didn't take more photos of the inside or even the beer for that matter.

The Brewery is on the outside of the city right next to a damn. It made for some really great skyline photography.

So Father's Day came and went, and of all my Father's gifts he seemed really pleased with his 12 pack of Genesee Cream Ale sampler.Ironically I didn't take any pictures of us drinking the beer :(

The Imperial Cream Ale tasted like its traditional counterpart only much stronger at over 7% alcohol.

The Dry Hop Mosaic was very hoppy as you would expect by the name. As many of you know , The Dood's a stout guy, and not a huge fan of over hoppy concoctions, but I will say, Genesee made this one work. Very smooth, with a nice refined finish. Not overly floral, with a dry, yet not overly bitter flavor. I thought I'd like this one the least, but it actually turned out to be one of my favorites. Maybe hops are finally growing on The Dood.

The Orange Honey Cream Ale tasted just like the name suggested. Hints of citrus, and sweet honey. Smooth, not overly sweet, and well balanced. This one turned out to be my father's favorite.

Overall I'd get these for the old man again. I felt they were a little overpriced at $23 USD for a 12 pack. Genesee is not noted as a very glamorous brand. I will admit I enjoyed them though, and my father also seemed quite pleased with the selection. I guess it was money well spent. I will say, I'm very pleased to see a local brewery move into the craft and micro brew market. For the most part, everything I've sampled from the brew house project has been quality stuff !

Hope you all had a great father's day. Thanks for reading and cheers! If you ever find yourself in Rochester NY, I suggest checking out the Genesee brewery, and grab a couple pints from the Brew House. If you enjoyed this post and also enjoy beer, you may want to follow @detlev for the weekly #BeerSaturday posts. You can find out more here :

https://steemit.com/beersaturday/@detlev/join-and-win-with-the-unbelievable-steemit-beersaturday-challenge-week-54

Sort:  

Woot! Always happy to read about one of my fav cities ... especially if it involves beer :D

I love Rochester. Haven't really been up there since the Club Freakazoid & Bug Jar days in the 90's The City is a lot more beautiful than I remembered it. Great town, and great place to party!

Hello friend, you do a good job. I see that you have a good voting power if you can support me with a vote. Greetings. I will be grateful.

I had a great fathers day, I also drove quite a distance to drink some beers!! Love the post, I can't see on the photo what bike you have, it does not look very big and you did quite a trip with it, nice going!!

That is a 2018 CSC TT250. Very small, lots of fun to drive and for the most part, pretty comfortable. I've been taking it further and further as I grow more confident in the bike Longest drive so far was a little over 200 miles to Pennsylvania. Hoping to top that soon with a trip to the Adirondacks.

Glad you had a great fathers day. For some reason good times and beers always seem better when you've traveled a bit for them! Cheers!

@resteemator is a new bot casting votes for its followers. Follow @resteemator and vote this comment to increase your chance to be voted in the future!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64970.70
ETH 3238.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64