#BeerSaturday - Delivering Beer in Germany

in #beersaturday6 years ago (edited)

First off, I must thank @uwelang for his post introducing me to #beersaturday. And of course, thanks to @detlev for creating it!

This is my first of probably not very many #beersaturday posts. I'll be honest, beer is not my favorite drink even after growing up for 22 years in Wisconsin. But this story is about visiting Schliersee, Germany a few years ago. I had a chance to try for myself carrying steins of beer just like you see at Oktoberfest. Here's the second admission about this #beersaturday post. Sadly, this is the only picture of beer I have from this experience.

FullSizeRender 30.jpg

I'm carrying 10 steins of beer there, clearly concentrating very hard. More than anything, I learned it takes some grip and forearm strength to pull it off. The biggest trick is pushing the glass against your chest to help ease the burden of the weight. Also, it helps to push the steins in each hand towards the middle to also help keep everything locked in place. Even still, the longer you walk, the harder it gets to keep the steins steady so beer doesn't start sloshing around. And once you're tired, it becomes difficult at the end when you have to place the steins on the table. That's where I ended up pouring some beer on myself! My big regret for this post is that I don't have pictures of the incredibly talented barmaids carrying the steins who make it all look so easy. But I do have some other pictures from my time there, like the beautiful lake in Schliersee:

IMG_0835.jpg

The wonderful food:
IMG_0848.jpg

And the entertaining music:
IMG_0821.jpg

The entire experience was about as German as you can get!

!steemitworldmap 47.7350 lat 11.8625 long Schliersee Germany d3scr

Sort:  

This is a fantastic post! Glad I could direct you to the challenge! Good luck in the contest - you would get my vote for sure!

meins auch

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for posting in #travelphotography.

You have earned 5.70 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.14
Server time: 21:48:26
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 551.25/800.00
Total Photos: 34
Total comments: 39
Total contest wins: 6
And have also received a 3.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=schmidthappens
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=beersaturday-delivering-beer-in-germany


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

Congratulations @schmidthappens! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Those steins are pretty heavy. Plus there's a lot. I'm guessing that was taken closer to the start of the night rather than the end. Congrats on not dropping them.

Hello Matt! Congratulation for your winning picture in the North American Friday of my 7 World's Continents Photo Challenge. Kindly see if you can answer some congratulation comments once they start coming in. Thank you. Tomas

7 World’s Continents Photo Challenge – North American Friday week #11 – winner announcement!

Thank you so much! I will do that!

You did a great job carrying those beers!! Nice post, perhaps you should take up beer drinking for some more posts to come!!

Hey cool post and great first pic.

Beim letzten "bluten" mir oft die Ohren ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69163.01
ETH 3773.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43