Oktoberfest in South Africa in December !!

in #beersaturday7 years ago

Oktoberfest in South Africa in December !!

IMG_4307.jpg
Finally, Oktoberfest has arrived, oh wait it is already December, but this is South Africa, we do things in our own way, thus we have Oktoberfest in December. The saga actually already started in the beginning of September, when @beers had a competition where I won all the necessities for an Oktoberfest, beer, weiss wurst, pretzels, mustard and even two 1 liter beer glasses with the Steem logo on them. @beers posted the parcel at the end of September and it finally arrived in South Africa on 7 November, all there and in one piece. (Except the pretzels that were broken as you will see in the photos below.) Then I had to find a suitable time to drink this beer, the original plan was to share it with my brother @marcel1965, but I ended up sharing this beer with my brother, friend and one son. (The wives also tasted some). The photo above show us lifting the trophy!! Below is a photo of the bottle, it is a real beautiful bottle.
IMG_4306.jpg
For a real special beer like this, I had to at least prepare the glasses properly and I took out the glasses with the family coat of arms on. Ice cold as you can see below.
IMG_4310.jpg
Below you can see the beer in the glass, nice brilliant white head and a crispy gold color, nice!!
IMG_4316.jpg
Below is the four of us with the beers in hand - CHEERS!!
IMG_4325.jpg
Below you can see the ingredients, the beer comes in 2 liter and has 6% alcohol.
IMG_4327.jpg
We all agreed, this beer was great, I had to get the last drop out of the bottle!!
IMG_4345.jpg
We did not forget about the weiss wurst, @beers send me a video on the correct way of preparing this delicatessen which I followed to the letter and also did not follow at all - it will become clear later!!
IMG_4348.jpg
Above and below you can see the correctly prepared weiss wurst with the mustard on, it was real nice.
IMG_4352.jpg
Being South African, we obviously had a braai while all the excitement was going on, we braai for any reason we can think off, and if we don't find a reason we still braai, below you can see the fire burning high, real wood - no gas for us!!
IMG_4356.jpg
This is also where the part of me not following the cooking instructions of the weiss wurst come in!! We braai everything and I thought why not also try to braai the weiss wurst??? Below you can see the weiss wurst sharing the fire with the other meat!!
IMG_4362.jpg
Just look at the weiss wurst below, it is not white anymore, it now actually has a healthy color!! Perhaps our German Steemian friends can try this and start something new!! (I must say the taste basically stayed the same as when cooked as per instructions)
IMG_4366.jpg
Below is a photo of the pretzels which we also enjoyed tremendously.
IMG_4294.jpg
Below is another photo of this great beer in the glass!!
IMG_4315.jpg
I must just thank @beers again for this wonderful present, we enjoyed the evening a lot, it was something else and we had a great time sharing this beer!!

If you enjoyed this post, please go and vote for my comment in the #beersaturday contest as hosted by @detlev, this will help me to win the competition and as a bonus you can read some more nice beer posts. Click on the link #beersaturday and search for my comment, then vote on my comment. You can always enter the competition yourself with a nice beer post and you could win some SBD. (You don't have to post on Saturday any day is fine)

These photos were taken by me using my iPhone.

I hope you enjoyed this as much as I did.

Sort:  

Prost!

wow nice
Thanks for sharing @rynow

You are welcome.

Wow great party
For your post propagation.
Upvote/Resteem

Thank you very much.

Great way to celebrate christmas. Hope you win.

Thank you!!

Lol that you had to get the last drop out of the bottle. Great beer. Have fun

Yes, we enjoyed the evening a lot.

I like that you decided to skip the cooking instruction and try out your own way

Yes, and it worked out very well.

Great beer i must say. You are really having fun. I would definitely give you my upvote.

Thank you very much for the support.

Great pics. Really like the weiss wurst. It really looks yummy. I will upvote

Yes, it was delicious.

Wow! just delicious
5464885.jpg

Thank you so much.

Great post @rynow.no better way to enjoy this time of the year, than with family. So Kool. I'll upvote your contest.

Thank you so much for the support.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59304.77
ETH 2534.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41