Home Brew Beer

in #beersaturday6 years ago


Home Brew Beer

IMG_8037.jpg
The past Saturday, I decided to attempt brewing my own beer at home. I decided to do a proper attempt, by going the full grain route!! I decided to do it on a budget, thus I made my own kit, which basically only consists out of a fermenting bucket, the rest is basically normal stuff you find in and around the house.
IMG_8040.jpg
I decided to try a stout, and bought the ingredients as per the list below. The photo above shows the grains. I bought the ingredients for 25 litter of beer, but then found that my biggest pot could only take approximately 15 litters, thus I halved all the ingredients to make 12 litters of beer.
IMG_8034.jpg
Below is the hops in the packet.
IMG_8044.jpg
Below you can see me with the grain in the grain bag, this works almost like brewing tea!! I decided to keep my grain in the pot at 67 degrees Celsius for 75 minutes. This basically breaks down the sugars from the grains, which produce your malt in the end.
IMG_8050.jpg
Below you can see my grain in the pot, note the color of the water, which is starting to form my malt.
IMG_8061.jpg
After the steeping of the grain is completed the entire brew must be boiled for about an hour, this is also the time you can add your hops. Below you can see my hops.
IMG_8066.jpg
Below is the hops in the small bag, inside the mixture, boiling away happily.
IMG_8076.jpg
After the boiling is completed, the wort must be cooled down fast, as it is winter here by us, I used the ice-cold swimming pool to do the cooling.
IMG_8080.jpg
After cooling the wort is poured into the fermenting bucket and the yeast added for fermenting. Now one must wait for the fermenting to take place, before the bottling can be done.

I have decided to brew my beer in the middle of winter with very low temperatures here in Pretoria, I measured the temperature inside the house at 14 degrees Celsius, and it seems a bit to cold for my fermenting as it seems to be going very slowly. I wonder if somebody with some experience in brewing can tell me if this is to cold and if I should be more patient.

I hope this turns out good, I will let you know when I test it, which will be about a month after bottling.

I hope you liked the photos as much as I did taking them.

All photos were taken by my with my iPhone at my home in Pretoria, South-Africa.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Let us know the results. It looks an interesting experience.

I will definitely do so.

This is my first time reading about a DIY brewing experience. It is very interesting to see the process from the pictures and your post, great job!

Thank you so much.

A great photos and I'm sure that home made beer is also excellent, like the best varieties. Well done! Thank you @rynow

I hope you are right, will have to wait and see!!

Go ahead true beer lover man, have a nice day with your home made beer!

Go ahead true beer
Lover man, have a nice day
With your home made beer!

                 - sheikh27


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Thank you so much.

That's so amazing your homemade beer. Very nice process that you share with us wish you happy beer Saturday always be enjoy yourself good luck..

Thank you.

Oh yeah @rynow, it's a great idea to make homemade beer and I'm sure that your beer will be delicious!

wow,really very best idea.. my dear friend.. @rynow its your knowledge creativity.this hand making beerr taste just awesome... this beer obviously drinking very excellent..thanks to sharing for your great post and support your fully my own steemit work.may god bless you..my dear friend.. @rynow

It is very interesting to know what you will get. Knowing how you feel about beer, I think it will be perfect :)

I really hope so.

Cheers up dear!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63117.29
ETH 2601.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76