My first NEIPA experience... at the tea party! Boston Tea Party by Rhombus.

in #beersaturday6 years ago

On 16th December 1773, one historical event took place - the Boston Tea Party. It is actually where the American revolution started! 240 years later, in the same NE(north east) part of America the NEIPA(New England IPA) style is born. It's a beerwith thick body, fruity aroma, not very high on bitterness and heavily hopped to haziness.

Untitled-1.jpg

My weekly #beersaturday story begins with a little trip. I spent the weekend in Velingrad - one of the mineral water SPA centers of Bulgaria, and had an absolutely relaxing weekend. On my way back, I decided to drive through the town of Pazardjik - the home town of the Bulgarian craft brewery - Rhombus. I know the guys, and go into the brewery maybe once a month. They have (almost) all their current beers on tap in their brewery, and you can get a beer in a plastic bottle for home, straight from the taps. And their prices are about $2 for a liter bottle!!!

IMG_5988.JPG
Rhombus craft brewery - the photo is taken in the Summer of 2017
A lot of beers fresh on tap

IMG_5989.JPG
A little part of Rhombus craft brewery

Even before going to the brewery I had a target - their NEIPA. I've seen a lot of reviews about this beer style, but actually never tried one. So this was my choice this time. Luckily, there was only one bottle left, and it was for me! Meanwhile I tried Rhombus' new lager beer, which was very hoppy... Reminded me of IPL in a way. Stoycho(the owner and head brewer of the brewery) explained, that he put a lot of Bavaria Mandarina hops in the whirlpool when cooling the wort. Believe me, this was a great brew! I even bought a liter of it for later, but it turned out, that Stoycho had mistaken the taps and the beer in the bottle was Bavarian Weizen! It was good as well, but I wanted my Bavaria Mandarina Lager!
I also got a gift from Stoycho... with the words "Take this! You will like it!". You can read the "Present's Review" here:
https://steemit.com/beer/@mdosev/breakfast-oatmeal-stout-by-rhombus-craft-brewery-perfectly-balanced-magic

So...no more words, let's get on with the Boston Tea Party!

I didn't know which glass to pick up for this beer, but decided that my Duvel glass would do a perfect job with this style.
IMG_0427.jpg

Opening the bottle, a very fruity aroma kicked me. Very fruity and sweet scents. The excitement overtook me a lot!
When buying this one, Stoycho warned me, that "it may not be right in the style guidelines, it lacks some haziness and the color is not very accurate for this style, you may buy a referent beer and make comparison!"
I don't know what the color of the NEIPA should be, but I've definitely seen a hazier NEIPAs.

IMG_0428.jpg

Maybe the color should be a bit lighter too... The photo is a little bit darker, but the real color is really a bit more heavy... Maybe like an Imperial IPA...
Anyway the aromas coming from the glass were great! Maybe they are dominated by Mango and tropical fruit. Not much citrus. Some peach and quince complete the blend.
In the mouth it stays very silky and smooth, full bodied. Tastes like mango of course, some more peaches and a little citrussy hints. They definitely put a lot of hops in this one.
The aftertaste is very lasting and pleasant. Makes you think of whether or not you ate a fruit salad... LOL

Overall conclusion is that this beer may not be exact representative of the style, but definitely is an excellent one. I'm sure, that in the next batch Rhombus will fine tune it a bit. Anyway... Well done, Rhombus!

Here is a quick shot of my "birnik". I'm not going to translate it all. It covers entirely mu review!
My score on the Boston Tea Party is 9/10! Would definitely by another one from a different batch.

IMG_0433.jpg

Cheers for the #beersaturday by @detlev

Sort:  

Nice Photography....I follow you ...I hope you also follow me...thank you

Fantastic article mate. And that does sound like one impressive IPA. That's a style that I've only recently ventured into for the first time. I am really enjoying them.

I am really enjoying this style too! Love the play with hops and the way various brewers combine them. So many different profiles!

$2 a bottle - now that is good value

The beer looks perfect to me, great color!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67232.05
ETH 3746.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64