It’s time for a sour... FINALLY!!! PETRUS Aged Red

in #beersaturday7 years ago

Time for a beer... Somewhat a special beer... Let’s get ready for the #beersaturday ! Hopefully this time everything to be just OK!

My choice this week... Let’s try a sour! Why not?!?!
My story with the sours begun about a year or two ago... I read in the Bulgarian homebrewers’ forum about this guy “bai Temelko” and his passion about sours. My first thought “whaaat? Who could possibly like to drink “vinegar” beer. Every home brewer knows what oxygen does to the beers, and trust me, the result isn’t good in any way...
But the truth is somewhat different... Once I tried a sour, my first one to be Duchesse de Bourgogne... And then the magic begun! A whole new marvelous world of aromas, tastes, feelings... But now to the main topic!

Today’s victim is a beer from the PERTUS collection and it is the AGED RED.
To get ready for the review I need 3 things:
IMG_0103.jpeg

  1. A clean glass
  2. A favorite bottle opener (from my friends’ brewery “trima i dvama”)
  3. Of course the beer...

Oops... something’s missing! Let me think... Uuugh... yes!
IMG_0108.jpeg
The “birnik” is here and I’m 100% ready now!

The pour and the appearance! Look at this crystal dark caramel beauty! Actually a good head and nice head retention, unlike the most sours...
IMG_0109.jpeg
IMG_0110.jpeg

So let’s write down... and write a little bit:
IMG_0112.jpeg
In English:
Name: Aged Red
Made by: PETRUS
Country: Belgium
Style: Sour
Alc: 8,5%
Served in: Bottle
Clarity: Clear
Head retention: Good(almost good in my opinion, but I had only 2 choices)
SRM: 28 (may be 24-25 at second glance)
IBU: About 30 on my tongue

Notes:
Aroma: Sour cherry, Vanilla(from the Oak barrels). Taste: Fruity, Somewhat sweet(10% sour cherry juice added)
Mid to low bitterness. Aftertaste: Long lasting, bitter (actually the bitterness somewhat gets stronger in time)
In the company of #steemit and #beersaturdays.

Date: 16.01.2018
Place: Kazanlak
Overall score: 9,0/10

I actually think, that in the “birnik” there is not enough place for adding some notes... to these notes should be a lot shorter than my needs in terms of expression. Anyways... the beer is very good! I like the sours, maybe somewhat a bit fruitier and sweet than my personal preferences. Definitely a good sour, with juice added. Reminds me of Timmermans kriek!

And now... oooh not... my glass became empty in no time... and cenosillicaphobia(the fear of an empty glass) had just called. Time to end this post and refill the glass.
IMG_0114.jpeg
Until then, cheers! And have a good beer week!

Keep calm and HAVE A SOUR!
IMG_0111.jpeg

Sort:  

Great review. Petrus is a nice sour but, like you said, it's a little bit on the sweeter side. 🍻

Great to see people supporting sour beers - definitely an acquired taste, but they can be so complex and interesting. great photography also

Most of my friends cannot understand why I love sour beers, but that's normal with the most people.

As soon as I will have a chance I will try it. I am not a big fan of sours myself, but since @beer47 is saying it's on a sweet side, I'll give it a try.

Yup, definitely on the sweet side, not like the most sours. Definitely deserves attention!

This is a great review. I don't normally get into sours, but I like reds. I also like that you reference a "kriek". I had not even heard of one of those until my most recent post. Anyways, thanks for the word "cenosillicaphobia". That was new to me and that book, the “birnik” is really cool!

Thank you for reading my post, and also commenting it! cenosillicaphobia is very interesting thing, indeed!
Cheers.

great post and correct #beersaturday tag

keep in mind that you have a double bonus from me for the issues from last week.

Thanks a lot! I like this beer "game", and definitely it's like a micro community for beer enthusiasts.

Looks great in the glass!!

Great review, Miro! I'll definitely have a sour next week :) Where did you buy this one?

Well done on such a great review mate. :)

I’m not a big sour beer fan but my wife enjoys them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60836.17
ETH 2567.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57