A big week, a long drive, and beer!

in #beersaturday5 years ago (edited)

Ever want to write a post but have no idea what to write about?


I'm having that problem right now. There's a million things running through my head, but I just don't know what deserves its own article.

  • my work is insane, and I'm suffering from imposter syndrome, which is a fascinating topic.
  • I seem to have an addiction to screens or my phone. Which keeps me awake way too late at night and stops me from getting to the gym before work. Phone addiction is real, and it's also quite a cool topic.
  • My wife is worried about her work, and also has a severe case of imposter syndrome (it's a pretty common issue with people, especially with those who are typically high achievers, such as the wife). So I'd love to write about her stresses and methods of dealing with things.

And then there's #BeerSaturday! I've certainly had my fill of good quality beer this evening. And after an insane week at work where I was frequently hidden away in the office from 6:30am to 7pm, I really needed something strong and tasty to distract myself with.

I was tossing up between a nice whiskey or a reasonably aged bottle of shiraz. So after driving 4.5 hours to Adelaide this evening, I spent 30 minutes in a nearby bottle shop trying to choose what to sip on tonight while I mulled over what I should write about on Steemit.

Well, I chose neither. I remembered while standing there in the bottle shop that I had promised to contribute to #BeerSaturday on a more frequent basis. So I grabbed a pack of South Australian beers and headed on home.


So, what did I get?


Tonight I'm drinking some beers from a brewery that I've only visited once before and is a brewery located in Willunga which is close to McLaren Vale (which is one of South Australia's most famous wine regions).

The Brewery is called Fox Hat, and when I visited there a while back, they had only been open for about 3 months. At that time, their beers were good, but not great. It was a bit of a mixed experience where their IPA didn't meet my usual expectations. So I was happy to find their new IPA on the shelves in the bottle shop tonight.

The beer that I went home with is their Metric IPA, which is a traditional West Coast IPA.

And I have to say, I'm much more impressed with this IPA in comparison to their old one. The brewers have very clearly been perfecting their craft in the time since my last visit. This IPA is fruity, crisp, very well balanced, and overall a highly enjoyable beer.

Many craft brewers these days are making IPAs that have a ridiculous alcohol content (I've had many that were above 9%), but this one sits quite happily at 7% which seems more rationale and enjoyable to me.

So I'm very happy with my beer of choice tonight. And happier that it's provided a pleasant distraction to all those frustrating thoughts that run through your head after a very challenging week. And it also gave me something positive to contribute to #BeerSaturday, and so I'll leave this post here. But not before posting a picture of my insane dog, who was very happy to see me when I got home tonight.


Sort:  

Only the roughest weeks bring #beersaturday forward a day. My weekend starts in 7 hours but its only a couple of days, so I'll be staying awake both nights. Murder switching from nightshift to dayshift, then back again for a 2 day break.
This beer idea of yours certainly has some appeal...

Beer Saturday should be relabelled #BeerWeek. :D

How on earth do you maintain night shift mode with kidlets? That must be incredibly tough. Definitely have a few brews to get you through the weekend of nocturnalness.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by mazzle from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations @mazzle! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 6000 comments. Your next target is to reach 6500 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Damn fine choice!!!!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sure was a good choice. :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Ooh Beer token. :D

Posted using Partiko iOS

To view or trade BEER go to steem-engine.com.

Here is your BEER token!

Puppen :D

And imposter syndrome is such a weird and stupid thing XD but then I don't know if it's better or worse than the Dunning-Krueger Effect O_O

The Dunning-Krueger effect sounds shockingly bad. I imagine that Trump suffers from it. :P

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59541.21
ETH 2543.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53