🍻Mazzle's WIFE Reviews Beer! Wolf of the Willows - Homage IPA 🍻

in #beersaturday6 years ago (edited)


My wife drank my beer and I found a new local Brewery!


I did a favour for a friend the other day who is familiar with my love of craft beer. So my friend showed her thanks via a 4 pack of a beer that I'd never encountered before. And what was even cooler was that this beer was from a local brewery that I'd never encountered before. I couldn't have been happier.

I was so excited to try this beer in fact, that I drank all of them without photographing a full glass of the stuff. So you're going to have to watch the video to see what it looks like.

I also have a little surprise this week, my wife is going to review this beer instead of me!


Well, she shares her opinion at least. She hates beer, so she's a total champ for putting up with this experiment tonight. You can see how much she hates this beer in the video above.

Wolf of the Willows - Homage IPA

Wold of the Willows describe their beer as:

As this IPA pays respect to our love of American West Coast IPAs, we have aptly named this beer 'Homage'. Simco, Amarillo, Ella and Cascade ensure this beer bursts with resin and pine, whilst displaying layers of stone fruit. Pale Ale, Wheat, and Biscuit malts provide a solid malt backbone, whilst some acidulated malt provides a lovely brightness on the palate that enhances the hop flavours.
Source

I would agree that this a reasonably fruity IPA. There are fruits in the aroma, along with the lovely strong notes of hops which is common in a good IPA. I'm not so sure about the stone fruit, but there is definitely fruit of some description. The fruit, hops and a strong bitterness follow through to the palate, along with decent carbonation. The bitterness lingers for a while which isn't unpleasant.

Overall, I'm quite fond of this beer. It's not the best IPA that I've had, but definitely nothing to complain about. And I expect this new local brewer will be quite an excellent addition to our local breweries.

Weirdly, Ratebeer.com doesn't consider this to be a quality IPA which I find very odd. But this wouldn't be the first time that I disagree with their assessment. And I doubt it will be the last.

The Beer Data

Mazzle's wife's rating: 2.5 out of 5... shocking I know, coming from a beer hater.


BeerTypeOriginABVRating
Homage IPAIPACheltenham, Vic6.2%4.0

All ratings are out of 5

Rating and Reviews at Ratebeer.com


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

medal.jpg

I'm combating against bots by upvoting and liking great content. Well done on the Beer review. Defo need one after today!

Friiiiidayyyy yeahhhh!

So great to see Mrs. Mazzle here in this video. I think a star is born!

She is the brains and beauty of our partnership :P

Ahah, love it! Wives know it better!

Not when they hate beer!

I know ;)...

Not a beer expert so can't speak to any of that, but your wife steals the video here. :)

2.5 out of 5 because it looked and tasted like beer. :)

She really does. And 2.5 because she hates beer and I made her drink it. :P

The whole thing, or just the sip? And how did you make her do it? Regardless, it sounds like you're lucky she gave it a 2.5. :) Is there something she does like to drink?

Just 2 sips, since we had to do two takes :P

I just told her what I wanted to do. She's a great sport and always happy to help.

And as far as the rating goes, she's too nice to give bad reviews. Something she hates would generally be given a 50% mark... so it's safe to assume that this beer might as well be given a rating of 0 stars.

Loading...

Great idea! I like your thought behind it. Check my post as well

How interesting that you haven't posted anything on your page... here's a flag!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68618.96
ETH 2706.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72