Delerium Tremens, roadtripping and Pink Elephants

in #beersaturday6 years ago

I almost forgot about this gem that was lurking around in my fridge! A while back we had found the Delerium Tremens in our local supermarket and I was delighted with this!

Let me tell you why!

Screenshot_20180417-115659.jpg

I had flashbacks to a Belgian Beer trip I did years back with one of my closest friends. The concept was fantastic! Take two girls, put them in a car, let them drive to Brussels and all kinds of place around. They try all kinds of Belgian Beers but they can NEVER take the same beer twice. Roadtripping and friends, I have warm memories thinking about this trip!

Screenshot_20180417-114955.jpg
Image

Its not what you think, we also did sightseeing and not just drinking there!! I saw the Atomium for the first time ever. Have you ever seen this one in Brussels?

Screenshot_20180417-115445.jpg
Image

Oke back to the beer

In our journey on Belgium Beer all of a sudden the Delerium Beer came up in the menu. I didnt know this beer at all but my friend was very hesitant on ordering this. She said that when you drink this you start seeing Pink Elephants crawling over the ceiling. I couldnt tell at that moment anymore if she was intoxicated or actually anxious on ordering it. At first we decided to drink some other beers to get some courage before ordering the Delerium. What happened after.. I dont remember anymore (grin), just that we had a ball and the stories on Pink Elephants were dominating the night.

Screenshot_20180417-114209.jpg

Oke now really back to THIS beer now

Delerium has a cool website where I learned they have more kinds of beers. This is what the site itself mentions on the one I had

Screenshot_20180417-121236.jpg

And I have to say: very accurate desciption. On the other hand, what do you expect from the site itself. It SHOULD be accurate hahaha.

My experience this time??

Screenshot_20180417-114157.jpg

Cool bottle, not glass but more a kind of stone. Awesome label with good vibes. High on flavor and spicy is true. It has a bite! And 8.5% ?? Well... stay easy on these babies, one is enough.

Did I see Pink Elephants in my living room? I think after 4 of these ones, you will see a stampede coming for you. :)

This is my entry for the #beersaturday competition of this week hosted by @detlev. If you like beer, you should join in. Also this is my second entry in the #7daybeerchallenge because I was challenged by @iliasdiamantis

Sort:  

Reminds me of a beer I drank many many moons ago called EKG. All I remember is that it had the consistency of molasses and after about 3 I was totally f*cked up.

Hahahahahahaha.

Id like to know what that abbreviation stands for then :D

I think it means after you've had a 6 pack you'll need someone to drive straight to the emergency room and have an EKG.

That is a great beer post.
If it ever gets in my way I will give it a try.

You should.. just one oke! Just one!

ok ... just one ... :)

Atomium is getting on in age since it was built for the 1958 world's fair (Expo 58). I visited there in the spring of 1971. So a few years ago. It was starting to deteriorate because I don't think maintenance was a priority. I believe it went under renovations and reopened sometime in 2006. Belgium is a great place for a beer tour. When I was there we found a monastery that made beer that was 25% alcohol. No wonder the monks were walking around with big smiles on their faces.

25% ??

That is almost scary even!! Yeah all those monestary breweries (abdij beer as we call it) are really cool places to visit.

1971 was just around the corner ceci ;))

My trip was after the renovation but it all looked a little oldschool to me still ;)

Imagine what it looked like in 1971! LOL

That does sound like an impressive beer. The one I had this week was 11%. I had to stop at one.

Your trip also sounds amazing. I want to do a beer holiday!

Oooow you should. Beerholidays are quality!

365 beer challange on the other hand is a bad idea dude!

It would be a bad idea. Everyone that did it says that they packed on the kilos over the year.

I also had one this week! cheers!!
delirium.jpg

Ahhhh excellent choice you have there!

Did you also find it as good?

Great choise of beer! It’s been a while since I tried it though. My favorites are Duvel, Triple Anvers, Triple Karmeliet and Tank 7. If you ever get your hands on these fellows... make sure you are not the driver 😅.

Hehehe I know all of those ones, especially the triple karmeliet is a ninja ej.. all of a sudden an attack.

Love belgian beers though. So full of flavor!

I tried this beer too! I can't recall the flavor exactly... but i remember enjoying it, and the bottle is really cool! I bought a large one just so i can add it to my bottle collection :) Typically i like both Belgian whites and Pilsner variety.

Yeah those ones are my favorites as well.. you recall liking it, but nothing more.

Did the stampede of elephants hit you? :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71084.64
ETH 3864.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.52